Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Question about cams for vq35

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2007, 01:45 PM
VQ35deMax

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about cams for vq35

Well I am a newbie to this site and I did search about putting cams into a vq35 but I still have some questions to ask. Maybe you guys can help me out.

Alright I am looking for cams for a non revup vq35. There are alot of different options available to me from gtm cams to nismo cams to jwt cams. I am not going to be doign anything to the bottom end like pistons or rings and etc. However I will raise the rev limiter. Now what do you guys suggest for an all motor vq35 as far as cams go? Also what about the valve train? Thanks for helping me out.

Vasiliy
Old 06-02-2007, 04:33 PM
VQ35deMax

nobody at all?
Old 06-02-2007, 04:43 PM
JETPILOT

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The labor involved in putting in a set of cams and the expense of the cams makes cams a waste of money. Without pulling the heads and porting combined with larger valves, and an expensive valvetrain there really aren't any real gains to be had. That's why no one does it.

JET
Old 06-02-2007, 05:12 PM
IIQuickSilverII

Received 215 Likes on 184 Posts

i know quit a few people that have done it actually...

20+whp gain n/a... i dunno where you came with the no gains to be have.
Ive personally seen an N/A Zs here in az with cams(all stillen on exhaust system, md spacer, , pulleys, utec, pop charger) do 296 with no bs correction.

Car was going 258 before utec , with utec tuned it ran 275, 296 witht he cams + retune...
This were jwt cams
Old 06-02-2007, 05:28 PM
failsafe306

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have no dynos to prove it, but I have JWT cams and can definitely feel a significant difference in midrange and topend power. When i test drove a new '07 Z, it felt slow and sluggish compared to my '03 Z with only K&N drop-in air filter, cams, 2.5" test pipes (stock exhaust), and stock ECU.