Notices
Intake Exhaust Moving all that air in and out efficiently

questions on Basic Plenum spacers

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2007, 11:05 AM
[]V[]addog

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default questions on Basic Plenum spacers

i'm new to anything other then intake, headers, exhaust. I'm looking into a couple low cost upgrades for fun.

First on my list is the JWT Popcharger for obvious reason, inexpensive and easy.
I have been reading alot about Basic Plenum spacers here. 5/16 or something. some sites say that this produces between 10- 15 hp on our engines. Now this seems quite high for the price of these things.

My questions is more on how it works. How does creating more space allow for more hp. I guess i'm looking for the cloes notes on how the spacer helps produce power.

thanks
Old 01-03-2007, 11:12 AM
blasian

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by []V[]addog
i'm new to anything other then intake, headers, exhaust. I'm looking into a couple low cost upgrades for fun.

First on my list is the JWT Popcharger for obvious reason, inexpensive and easy.
I have been reading alot about Basic Plenum spacers here. 5/16 or something. some sites say that this produces between 10- 15 hp on our engines. Now this seems quite high for the price of these things.

My questions is more on how it works. How does creating more space allow for more hp. I guess i'm looking for the cloes notes on how the spacer helps produce power.

thanks
http://motordyneengineering.com/techinfo.asp

Everyone seems to love em and I'll be looking to buy one soon.
Old 01-03-2007, 11:37 AM
[]V[]addog

and I noticed that some will fit with stock strut bars, some will not, depending on size. 5/16 if you want to keep stock strut bar.

Am I to understand is that all it does is increase the volume of air/free space, this allows the engine to breath better, increasing the hp.
what if any problems do people run into?

Last edited by []V[]addog; 01-03-2007 at 11:49 AM.
Old 01-03-2007, 12:15 PM