Notices
New Owners Welcome to the Family!

new 03 z owner with starting issues

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2017, 09:37 PM
pralvarado

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new 03 z owner with starting issues

hey guys. like the title says im new to the 350z world. worked on cars so i have a good grasp of what i am doing. i have a burnt orange 03 touring with an auto trans. so i have looked through far and wide on google and cant find a definite solution to my problem

ran odb 2 on it and pulled up p1614,p1615, code for thermostat , and cam pos sensor a,
so when i crank the car you can hear a loud clunk and all the lights dim.
so i removed the old one and hooked it up to the battery to see what it did. well when it it "cranks" the propeller shaft pops out but does not turn. i replaced it with a duralast one from autozone. now instead of the clunk noise you can hear a grinding noise. and then it wont do anything afterwards.
while i was down there i did notice there was no ground cable attached to the alternator as per in the FSM section PG page 50. E211,e212,e213 which is for alternator ground chasis, and engine.
i checked all the relays that belong for the starter and ignition. i also took the car to get the keys reprogramed( which was weird becuase they never touched my car at all during the coding process.)

update: went back to the car later on in the day to test out nissan datascan. when i turn the key to start the car i can hear the clicking noise from the starter and then my lights shut off completly leaving the battery, service engine, and door open light on. but everything turns off including the stereo

everything is stock in my car
i am currently at a stump at this point.
any help would be appreciated.
Old 02-19-2017, 05:57 AM
dcains

Received 435 Likes on 342 Posts

Did you replace the starter? Looks like there's a section missing from your post. If so, what did the ring gear look like?
Old 02-19-2017, 10:00 AM
pralvarado