New Owners Welcome to the Family!

New Member, needs suspension / wheel / tire guidance

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2019, 07:36 AM
nasastar

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking New Member, needs suspension / wheel / tire guidance

Hi All -

I'm new to the my350z family. Late last year I purchased a 2004 350z Convertible for a reasonable price. It needed a lot of work and I enjoy tinkering.

I have a long history of customizing and building car, truck, and motorcycle projects.

The reason why I bought this car is because I miss track days with my Evo IX and wanted to get back out there for some HPDE's, Track Days, and AutoX.

Ideally, I would have preferred a coupe, but never saw one in my price range until this one came up.

I bought it, drove it home, put it up in the air and it's been in the shop since.

I ordered in some parts and began making repairs and I'm finally getting to the good stuff.

I'm ripping and replacing suspension components, the previous owner had it set up for drift racing and way too low for my liking.

I'm considering wheels and tires and could use some guidance.

After reading post after post here, I'm leaning towards the RPF1 18x10.5 +15 square setup and 285/35/18 RA1s on all four corners.

I may drive the car to and from track events and occasionally on the road.

In the coming week/two I'll install the Tein Coilovers and Kintetix UCA's, etc...and will add EDFC at some point.

All of the fenders are rolled and one of the fronts has a slight kink from being rolled and stretched.

I'm looking for some feedback on the wheel / tire options and also the suspension settings / setup.

I'm not expecting to be as competitive as I was with my Evo, I just miss the track since I sold my Evo 5 years ago.

If anyone else is running a convertible, I'd like to hear what you're doing in terms of cage or roll bar options.

I haven't seen a fiberglass top out there, but maybe I missed it.

Any thoughts there?

Old 04-25-2019, 08:02 AM
coletrickle74