details about tires and rims as requested

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2002, 09:58 PM
zland
Sponsor
Sport Z Magazine

Received 46 Likes on 35 Posts
Default details about tires and rims as requested

Some requests have been sent to me suggesting I talk about rim offsets and rim/tire sizes based upon my first posting. Just remember, i am new at this and my info came from talking to a lot of people and their experiences. With that said, here is some info I have aquired.

Ok, I will do my best to recall and interput my notes from September when I made a lot of calls researching rims. I will give you phone numbers too to verify my data so if you spend the money, you get it right the first time.

Fisrt of all, the track model's rims were made for nissan by Volk racing. Since i was thinking of buying those rims (at first but now changed my mind on that) after market (I am buying an enthusist model) I tried to contact a Volk rep. One of my calls was to Dazz motorsports (dazzmotorsport.com). Their phone number is (626) 962-0033. I believe I spoke to a guy named Ryan. Regardless of his name, he told me he designed rims for racing hart, and they were testing rims on the new 350Z. He told me he thought the best combination they had tested thus far was 18" rims with the front being 8.5" wide rim with a 245 40 series tire and a 275 35 series tire witha 10" wide rim. He recommended the racing hart "CR" rim. Again, remember he is partial to that company and it might not match your taste as it is not one of my favorite looking rims. I bet if you contact them, they can give you the specs on the offsets for those rims.