Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What would you do?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2006, 01:15 PM
Malice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What would you do?

Hi, I just wanted to say that Ive always loved the 350z's styling since it came out in 2003. And this is a great online community, one of the better ones Ive seen.

I wanted to ask your guys opinion about my current situation. I have a 99 Mercury Cougar that I bought when I was 16, pretty much had it paid for from cash that I earned from when I was 14-16 working at the local A&W. I never spent a paycheck from 14-16, it all went in the bank until I got my car. I put 18" wheels, dual exhaust, sidemarkers, and some various other mods. Well, currently I am a manager at Culvers, and am going to school for a BA in comp networking and security.

I will have more than half of my schooling paid for by this November(Parents arent helping, they give me a roof over my head, which is more than enough). That means, all I will have to worry about is student loans 6 mos from when I graduate (Fall 2008). These student loans wont be much, and I will be making quite a bit more than I am at the moment.

What I want to do, is sell my car and get $6-8,000. And buy a 03 350z for around 17-18k(cheapest ive seen them). Hopefully, I could get one with around 40-60k miles. Does this sound realistic?

Do you think I could afford it? Currently, my car ins is about $75/month, and my car is paid for. I live at home, which is very convenient, especially because I have nice parents. What I am afraid of, is that my car is going to go down in value, and I wont be able to get anything for it.

Well, what I am trying to ask, is what would you do?

Option 1:
Sell the cougar and buy a 350z.
Option 2:
Wait a year, rack up some more miles on the cougar, and get a 2003 z for about $15000 around summer of next year.
Option 3:
Try to keep the cougar running until I graduate, keep saving, and try and buy a brand new Z when I graduate.