Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

'05 350Z Transmission Sounds

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2005, 10:16 PM
mmccormick

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '05 350Z Transmission Sounds

I have a 2 month old '05 Z and have noticed what appears to be a bad sound coming from my transmission since the first week. It sounds like something is loose or something is dropping out. It's a metally clanking sound that just doesn't seem right. I took the car into a local dealership and had the lead tech look at it. He said it was normal and that it was the triple cone synchronization system that is part of my transmission. What was i supposed to say to that? I am far from a car expert and am looking for someone that may have experience with this issue and some advice, if it is a flaw, on how to resolve it. My gut feeling tells me this sound is not normal. I hope my brief description is sufficient for a more experienced driver to understand. Any responses or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old 04-16-2005, 10:53 PM
___DJK___

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Do a search, or better yet, browse through the repairs section. The Z has a noisy tranny and most likely its normal. Its probably the throw out bearing you are hearing. Its loud as fk!!
Old 04-16-2005, 11:44 PM
Superhung

The Z does have a noisy tranny but I got used to mine within a day =) If something breaks, warranty all the way baby !
Old 04-16-2005, 11:47 PM
FLZ_Boy

It's pretty much the throw out bearing, sounds like a metal ball rolling around on neutral. I had that noise since I bought my Z. 7400 miles later, its still the same sound.
Old 04-16-2005, 11:50 PM
sokudo9l6

Originally Posted by mmccormick