Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

OMFG Burned my clutch SOOOO bad...help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2005, 11:47 PM
gsazabi

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default OMFG Burned my clutch SOOOO bad...help!!!

Let me just start off by saying I was a stupid a**...
For some reason I've decided to try doing burnout/peelout on my Z today...
I've never tried it before, and I don't really know how to do it properly...
My co-worker who was wit me told me that all you do is gas it to the floor
and dump the clutch...(Well obviously wrong direction! Stupid me for listening...)
Well I screwed up big time...I was revving it at 6500rpm and kept it there for
like 3 seconds before dumping the clutch..
Not only my car didn't even peel out, it was going so slow and when my clutch was released it was so damn loose and wobbly...

The clutch burning smell was so bad and unbearable, and it lasted for at least 10 minutes..
When I tried driving again, the clutch was so LOOSE, nowhere stiff as it used to be...
Let me just add that this is 6 week old car with only 1600miles on the odo, so the clutch was fairly stiff up till this incident.
It still pops back pretty stiff as before, however when I press in the clutch if feels like marshmellow.
The engagement point isn't where it used to be (now it's more higher up with much NARROWER sweetspot)
And I don't feel as much resistance when I downshift...
Not to mention clutch burning smell after I'm done driving...

Looks like I fu*ked up big...
I plan to take it to the dealer tomorrow, but I'm not sure if they'll replace the clutch for free..
I'm not sure how much the damage is...I hope it's just the clutch...
I bought my car at Performance Nissan and I hope they can do something...
I'm actually thinking about just getting the racing clutch since this happened.

Man I feel so mizerable right now...any comments on what I should do will be appreciated...

Btw what does 'slipping the clutch' and 'riding the clutch' mean?