2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

shifting red light??

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2006, 10:01 PM
myZter
PREMIER MEM.FTW

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default shifting red light??

i was wondering if i could just set the rpm shift light to like 7000 and shift at another rpm cuz that light keeps bugging me.

also lets say i was going 40 on 4th gear and slowed down to likt 30 cuz of traffic do i have to shift down to 3rd gear or can i just leave it on 4th? when do i shift down?

yes im a noob to 6mt. ive searched but could not find.

Thanks..
Old 05-29-2006, 10:20 PM
Mazinger Z

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Try your owner's manual, you can set your shift point at 7k...or even above...the owner's manual might save you from being flammed
Old 05-29-2006, 10:24 PM
anniversary car

I have a 5AT. As for when to shift down, sorry, can't really help with that much due to the 5AT. But I can tell you that you should down shift coming to a red light i.e.:stopping. to first or second. Once again can't really help you with the exact one. Or of couse when you have a race while just cruising around in 6th down to 5th or 4th should do it. Atleast I think so. In the 5At, I go from 5th to 3rd or just whatever is neccesary, just like you.
Old 05-29-2006, 10:27 PM
LeMansZ33

Originally Posted by myZter
i was wondering if i could just set the rpm shift light to like 7000 and shift at another rpm cuz that light keeps bugging me.
Yes

also lets say i was going 40 on 4th gear and slowed down to likt 30 cuz of traffic do i have to shift down to 3rd gear or can i just leave it on 4th? when do i shift down?
Yes I would downshift, you dont have to if your only going thirty but i dont recomend that, its fun downshifting anyways
Old 05-29-2006, 10:30 PM
myZter
PREMIER MEM.FTW

how come i cant just slow down on 4th gear?
Old 05-29-2006, 10:32 PM
Nitrouz
Back to Z

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Thanks..
it's ok. We have all been a noob once.