Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Hit a Deer AND a Possum last night!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2006, 08:35 AM
k2we

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hit a Deer AND a Possum last night!!

Well.. I've been driving for just shy of 39 years and I never struck any type of animal... Until last night.. I was heading south on the Taconic Parkway in Columbia County, NY.. I was doing between 65-70 MPH on an empty road.. I saw 2 deer run across the road in front of me.. I let off the gas when all of a sudden a third deer tried to cross.. It struck my front bumper and I ended up running over it with both drivers side wheels..I though for sure I tore the entire front off.. I pulled off at the next exit to take a look.. I was surprised to find a very small dent just behind the front wheel.. That was it.. Guess I should consider myself very lucky.. Now for part 2.. I exited near my house and was doing 20 MPH when a Possum darted in front of me.. I hit it with the front wheel.. I just couldn't belive it!! When I got home, I took a look but saw no damage.. Just some blood and fur below my passenger door.. It washed off with water..I had the car put up on a lift to check for any other damage and everything looked fine.. Who would ever think I would hit 2 animals in one evening!!

Steve (k2we) Dobbs Ferry & Saratoga Springs, NY 46,809 miles since Sept 17,2002
Old 06-23-2006, 08:53 AM
djnc

lol...quite a night...it could've been much worse...glad the Z made it out alive
Old 06-23-2006, 08:55 AM
taurran

I'd suggest picking up a new front bumper that's made for pushing animal carcasses out of the way. Something along the lines of this:

Old 06-23-2006, 08:58 AM
GMZ

I hit an aardvark when I was going through TX. I was so tired I saw it laying in the road but I wasnt sure what side it was on so I just held on! Worst sound Ive ever heard! Didnt break anything though, surprised.
Old 06-23-2006, 08:59 AM
tmounk

Animal Killer
Old 06-23-2006, 09:01 AM
VO...
Administrator