G35 Build 2nd Try - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion



Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2017, 01:32 PM   #1
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default G35 Build 2nd Try

Well i figure it time to start a new thread since the new motor is nearly in. So here is the original thread; https://my350z.com/forum/forced-indu...ed-g35-21.html TLTR:

Here is the current set up.
11:1 compression Eagle rods/ Wiesco pistons
BC Stage 2 cams w/Springs (264* at 10.82mm lift)
HR cooling mod with Cometic Headgaskets
ARP L19's and Main Studs
Rev-Up Oil Pump
5/16 Plenum Spacer
Haltech Redbox Piggyback ECU
05 G35 Rev-up intake
OBX longtubes, into HKS replica exhaust with magnaflow crossover

Future plans is to get rid of the dual exhaust and get a single, get a Admintuning Intake, and possibly a Kinetix Manifold. Then once i get some money saved back up to get a Vortech Supercharger.

So here is the progress since i got the motor back and have slowly been working on it.

G35 Build 2nd Try-g35-1.jpg

G35 Build 2nd Try-g35-2.jpg

G35 Build 2nd Try-g35-3.jpg

G35 Build 2nd Try-g35-4.jpg

G35 Build 2nd Try-g35-5.jpg

I put my break in oil in it only to find that i have a leak in between the lower and upper oil pan...i didn't think it was that bad but i lost qt of oil in about 3 days. So i drained the oil into a brand new oil container and will reuse it once i get put the new lower oil pan on.

Other than that i have a few more things to finish, I need to hook back up my exhaust and put the front clip back on. Rewire my wideband to a toggle switch, the innovate DLG is dumb and every time it looses power it goes into its heating cycle even if it has been running for 20-30 minutes and the wideband sensors are already hot. Plus i think ts drawing to much current and somehow frying the fuse for my tail lights.

I'm sure there are somethings I'm forgetting but that's all i can think of for now.
Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Conway_160 For This Useful Post:
BluestreamDE (11-06-2017)
Old 11-05-2017, 07:32 PM   #2
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: col
Posts: 2,426
Thanked 141 Times in 124 Posts
Default

give 'em hell! The more you suffer the more it shows you really care!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conway_160 View Post
I put my break in oil in it only to find that i have a leak in between the lower and upper oil pan...
What break-in oil did you go with? Better to figure this now than later! What RTV did you use? I used permatex ultra black and it's done the trick
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conway_160 View Post
I think ts drawing to much current and somehow frying the fuse for my tail lights.
why did you wire it to that circuit?

Last edited by bealljk; 11-05-2017 at 07:39 PM.
bealljk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 07:49 PM   #3
CK_32
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
CK_32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: California
Posts: 3,095
Thanked 297 Times in 253 Posts
Default

What exactly killed your motor the first time?

I read through your thread but didn't see what the exact cause was.

I hope this run goes better. Sucks you didn't really even get to enjoy your last one.
CK_32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 03:37 AM   #4
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CK_32 View Post
What exactly killed your motor the first time?

I read through your thread but didn't see what the exact cause was.

I hope this run goes better. Sucks you didn't really even get to enjoy your last one.
Original Motor that blew up on the dyno im not 100% sure but i believe the tuner didn't pull enough timing and #5 piston **** the bed.

1st Motor build- I think the problem was i forgot the O-ring for the Oil supply between the upper pan and the block. But after fixing that my Rear Main went bad. But after all the times of removing and reassembling the different parts of the car i got something in the oil and it ruined the bearings.

These are the pics i received from the engine builder.
G35 Build 2nd Try-vq11.jpg

G35 Build 2nd Try-vq22.jpg

G35 Build 2nd Try-vq33.jpg

G35 Build 2nd Try-vq44.jpg

G35 Build 2nd Try-vq66.jpg

I got to take the car out on two cruise's with the procharger i just had to take a few qt's of oil with me. It was very fun to say the least and someday ill have boost again.
Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 08:00 AM   #5
BluestreamDE
Registered User
 
BluestreamDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 528
Thanked 71 Times in 59 Posts
Default

The journey is the reward, sub'd! Good luck!
BluestreamDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 11:16 AM   #6
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: col
Posts: 2,426
Thanked 141 Times in 124 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BluestreamDE View Post
The journey is the reward, sub'd! Good luck!
thats my line!

I love that quote and the mentality behind it...

I also love that itís sorta self-selecting, the people that canít conceptualize it are the people I shy-away from
bealljk is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bealljk For This Useful Post:
BluestreamDE (11-06-2017)
Old 11-10-2017, 02:08 PM   #7
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default

We'll it's mechanically put back together, just need to charge the battery so I can prime the oil. So hopefully it will be started sometime tonight.
Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 05:23 PM   #8
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Priming the Engine


Trying to start the Engine.

Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Conway_160 For This Useful Post:
BluestreamDE (11-10-2017)
Old 11-10-2017, 05:31 PM   #9
BluestreamDE
Registered User
 
BluestreamDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 528
Thanked 71 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Wonder why it's dying like that not bein able to hold idle. Any codes come up?
BluestreamDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 05:35 PM   #10
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BluestreamDE View Post
Wonder why it's dying like that not bein able to hold idle. Any codes come up?
No codes that i saw, my battery died so i coudn't mess with it much. I think i just need to mess with the cranking enrichment, but im not sure yet.
Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 06:48 AM   #11
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 06:53 AM   #12
BluestreamDE
Registered User
 
BluestreamDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 528
Thanked 71 Times in 59 Posts
Default

It's alive! Congrats!

Those cams sound pretty tame at idle, no lope or fluctuations from the video.
BluestreamDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 08:17 AM   #13
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: col
Posts: 2,426
Thanked 141 Times in 124 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BluestreamDE View Post
It's alive! Congrats!

Those cams sound pretty tame at idle, no lope or fluctuations from the video.
Devil's in the details...
bealljk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 08:50 AM   #14
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default

So do we have to "break in" new cams in our cars?
Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 08:51 AM   #15
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BluestreamDE View Post
It's alive! Congrats!

Those cams sound pretty tame at idle, no lope or fluctuations from the video.
Thanks, I wish there was some Lope sounds but I don't think 264 is big enough :-(
Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 09:13 AM   #16
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default

So i'm going to see if the guy who built the motor will come look at it Monday. There is a very loud ticking coming from the top of the passenger side of the motor. I hope they torqued everything down to spec.
Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 09:53 AM   #17
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: col
Posts: 2,426
Thanked 141 Times in 124 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conway_160 View Post
Thanks, I wish there was some Lope sounds but I don't think 264 is big enough :-(
I run JWT C2 261 and it seems like a good balance of idle/tuning/performance ... what are your psi goals on the vortech?

Last edited by bealljk; 11-11-2017 at 09:56 AM.
bealljk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 11:15 AM   #18
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bealljk View Post
I run JWT C2 261 and it seems like a good balance of idle/tuning/performance ... what are your psi goals on the vortech?
Once i get one it will depend on the blower, i'm just looking for ~300whp n/a and 500whp with the blower.
Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 11:19 AM   #19
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default


Exhaust Leak at the header or a Valvetrain???
Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 12:22 PM   #20
Conway_160
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,644
Thanked 76 Times in 68 Posts
Default

So i found that my idler was loose and had 3 of the 4 bolts backing out, tightened them up and the noise is almost gone. Do our stock injectors have a noticeable tick to them? I haven't heard a N/A Car run in a long time so this could just be a normal noise.

I'm going to see if i can find a local Z or G and listen to the engine to see if i can hear the Injectors.
Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Copyright ©2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: