Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Racing the Automatics... Help!

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2003, 10:16 PM
TaliaZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Racing the Automatics... Help!

My car is an 04 automatic. I only have about 80 miles on the car (I LOVE IT!)

Now... once I've broken it in without flooring it for about 1000 miles, how do I race it? I am talking either at the trackor just plain racing a guy who pulls up to me at a light. (I am a very safe driver, I am just talking a race up to 60 when the road is barren with no traffic or trees nearby. I live in a part of south jersey where there are open roads going through huge grass fields.

So do i wait for green and just floor it? Do I hold my left foot on the brake and rev and then let go? Do I take the traction control off? If I do, won't I just sit there and smoke the tires?

I have a friend with a Grand Cherokee 5.9 AWD and he swears his truck will beat me. He ran a 15.0 quarter at Atco raceway... I was there. He gets a great jump off the line (which is why I wanna know how to launch)

Once I get a good start i know the crazy power and torque of the engine will pull me by him in no time.

Help is needed.. and stay tuned for pics of me and my new baby in Pikes Peak White with frost interior.
Old 11-27-2003, 10:48 PM
travs_z

You should beat your friend no problem. From what i have read the auto is just as quick as the manual in the 1/4.

I am unsure of how to race it as I have a 6spd, but I am positive some of the auto-owning folks here will lend you a hand.

Get those pics up (I LOVE THE FROST INTERIOR), and let me be the first to welcome you to my350z.com and Z ownership. Congrats!
Old 11-28-2003, 01:13 AM
hornet59