Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Car v. Bike (not the usual!)

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2003, 05:13 PM
Dr. Greg

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car v. Bike (not the usual!)

I recently got my '03 CS Track because of a motorcycle crash...I'm a 56-year old sportbike rider (Ducati, Aprilia, Buell Firebolt) who had uh, a little argument with the pavement (not my fault, and don't ask! )

Anyway, not being able to ride until next summer, I had to have a cool vehicle in the meantime, hence the Z.

As I take corners in the Z that I've taken on sportbikes I find myself going about 10% slower in the Z. Now most of this is because I'm a lousy driver (I haven't had a good car since my '65 GT-350 Shelby Mustang), but I find myself thinking "boy, I used to go pretty darn fast around corners on a bike!"

Last spring I dropped a new Corvette while riding my bike on the local "racer road" (and he was a young guy! )

The "car v. bike" debates are endless, but I have a theory: more sportbike riders are capable of riding nearer the limits of their bikes than car drivers are their cars.

Now this forum probably has many very capable drivers who could drop me (on my bike) like a hot potato. No argument there.

But it was illuminating for me to go from bike to car (and back again next summer! )

Any of you have any twisty-road encounters with sportbikes you'd like to relate?
Old 12-13-2003, 06:50 PM
aprez99