2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

05 350Z with Track package

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2012, 07:13 AM
c6cmfall

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 350Z with Track package

Hi folks,
So just signed up, don't own a 350Z but am looking at one for my son. He's been driving a 95 Impala SS and it's time move on. Want to see him get something fun and reliable that he can afford to maintain.

What I'm looking at is:

- 05 with the Track Package (what is the track package anyway?)
- leather interior
- 6 speed
- 50K miles (new brakes & tires)
- 2nd owner, clean car fax
- asking 14K

So I have no real experience with the 350, owned a 240 and then a 260 way back when.. I do know the 06 has more HP, but other than that what are the things I need to look out for? Are the 05's decent? Should I stay away and look for a newer year? Any advice would be helpful, I don't need another "project"..

Thanks,
Fred
Old 01-04-2012, 07:40 AM
Raybrant

Before anybody flames you, do you really think your son is ready for a car like the 350Z? Not that the Z is anything sacred but it's definitely more difficult to drive than an Impala SS.

I own an 05 Base and it's been very good to me. All Zs are generally very reliable until you start tinkering with it. Just be mindful when your son starts messing with the car that OEM reliability goes out the window when you start installing things like turbo kits, coilovers, breathing mods, larger injectors...

A few things to get straight: the '07-08s had more power (VQ35HR) and the '06s had the rev-up which I would avoid. If I were you, get nothing older than an '05 only because the older models had transmission problems that could only get fixed by replacing it.

You can easily find an '05 track in the 14k range. A quick google will net you the differences between trim levels. Basically the track package have the basics (cruise, traction control, vlsd...), brembo brakes, larger wheels, etc.

So you don't have to google... :