Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Gearing up for first time at track...

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2004, 05:46 PM
danlee1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gearing up for first time at track...

So my buddy has a friend that is arranging a private track day at Moroso Motorsports Park in West Palm. When I first found out, I jumped at the opportunity to sign up for this puppy as the track has a hard limit of 10 cars for a private session. From what I understand, there are going to be a couple of former professional drivers out there, 3 or so instructors, and the rest just out to have a good time. The field consists of a few Porsches (don't know which models), a Ferrari of some sorts, my buddies RX8, and of course my Z. My ride is a completely bone stock Touring 6sp so I don't know how track worthy this puppy is but I'm stoked.

This is my first time out at a track so does anyone have any advice?

Thanks,

Dan
Old 04-15-2004, 06:20 PM
DiRN

Wear a helmet and don't lose.

Old 04-15-2004, 07:22 PM
Jetpilot718

Originally posted by DiRN
Wear a helmet and don't lose.

Well, besides that, here's a few tips that may be helpful:

First off, lets set up the car. Plan the trip out so that you will arrive at the track with no more than 1/4 of a tank of gas. If you are able to, get there with approx. 1/8th, and fill up to like 1/3 with the race gas that you can buy at the track. High octane helps this car out alot.

Next, remove all non-necessary components. This only works if ya do everything. That means, empty your glove boxes, compartments, spare tire, floor mats, sun glasses, cell phones - you get the idea. Two reasons - saves weight, and less sh*t to slam around and hit you/distract you. You've got a car to race!

Then, you wanna think about adjusting your tire pressues. There is no definate answer with this one. Just make sure they are all balanced and a few lbs higher than your normal driving psi's.