Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

independent review of Bose system

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2003, 09:14 PM
zh.guitar
Leave your mark!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default independent review of Bose system

Here is my opinion of the Bose "premium" sound system.

Dissappointing as expected.

I am a profesional musician. I am part owner of a recording studio and have recorded/produced/engineered several cds with a variety of artists and styles. I have worked with all the top brands including Genelec,Mackie, Roland studio monitors.

I own a home Bose system, a bedroom system with 301's, and a Roommate II system. My brother has 901's. I have had several car audio systems. My sister-in-law has a Bose system in her Acura.

In comparison to other systems this is my impression of the Bose premium system in the Touring model. Purchased 4/03.

- Overall the system is "tuned" pretty well. Things sound pretty good across the board and you hear what is intended. A "decent" mix. Thing is people have different listening preferences. If you want to eq the system your SOL.

-The equilization of the system is the worst I have ever encountered. The bass and treble hardly do anything. First clue of a bad eq is the fact it is only 2 bands. I have passive eq's that don't produce drastic gain levels, this is not one of them!

-The separation of the sound is horrible. Individual voices/instruments sound squashed.

-The sound compensation (audio idiot) is just plain wrong. It does not help it to sound better.

-The bass is loose and does not have an extended low freq. If you like a thumping bass forget it. I like a tight focused bass with a realistic freq. range. You can't get that either.

-Power....plenty of power. You can crank that nasty tone as loud as you can stand.

- looks/features... Very nice. Love the OEM look and the 6 changer.