Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

MOderate audio upgrade: need some help

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2003, 04:25 PM
peptidbond

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MOderate audio upgrade: need some help

Good evening,

To start, I searched around, but only found some information that was helpful. So I thought I would ask the more specific questions. I am doing a moderate upgrade to my audio system. I don't want anything booming, but I do want better sound. I am going to install it myself since I used to work as an installer long ago. However, I need some pointers on equipment since it has been so long since I sold this stuff. Here goes:

HU: Clarion DXZ735MP
Looking at this because another post said it matches the factory lights. Also, fulfills my requirements for MP3 and aux-in. Any other suggestions between $200-250? Any warnings about this model?

FRONT: Kicker RS6c
Pretty decided on these speakers. Anyone know how the fitment is? I know I will need a spacer, but is there anything wrong with choosing this particular speaker?

REAR: Kicker RMB6 mid basses
Yup, mid basses in the rear because I will not have a sub and I don't think rear components contribute well to staging. The mounting depth is only 2", so they should work fine. Concerns?

AMP (optional): Kicker KX300.4
Seems to be in the right price, size, power range. Again, don't need anything whopping. I also plan to mount this in the cubby behind the driver (sealed). I think the space in there is enough for cooling (4 ohms). Remember, no sub. Shoud I reconsider?

Finally, anyone know a good source for the following:
-Speaker spacers/brackes
-Good (matching) HU bracket

Thank you much. I hope this is not so detailed that know one cares ;-).
Old 09-12-2003, 04:43 AM
zand02max
350Z-holic

I have the RS6c's in front. I have had them about 3 years, and they fit fine according to the installer. You might need a spacer though.