Help Bypassing Motorized Navigation Amp - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

Go Back  MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion > 350Z Tech Area > Audio & Video
Reload this Page >

Help Bypassing Motorized Navigation Amp

Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Help Bypassing Motorized Navigation Amp

Old 10-18-2017, 12:54 PM
  #1  
1998yellowstang
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help Bypassing Motorized Navigation Amp

Ive wrapping up my project and have some loose ends to tie up. I have a 2004 350Z Touring. I recently replaced the broken navigation lid with a 2003 manual lid as I didnt want to spend $400 on a new motorized one. My problem is that I dont have the old lid closer amp, therefore, the navigation does not turn on. I would like to bypass this completely and wire the navigation to turn on when the ignition is on. After reviewing the schematics, it appears the only output signal the closer lid amp sends is 5 volts to the main navigation unit in the rear of the car. I was hoping I could jump this signal from another "ignition on" wire in the back of the car directly to the input signal to the main navigation unit. The problem is finding a wire that has 5 volts that is hot when the ignition is on. It appears I would need a voltage transformer to achieve the 5 volts the manual calls for.

Does the navigation closer amp provide power, ground or signal that other systems of the car require? Is there an easier way to bypass the lid closer amp that I'm missing? Any input would be greatly appreciated!
1998yellowstang is offline  
Old 10-19-2017, 04:19 PM
  #2  
zakmartin
orange moodring
 
zakmartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,820
Thanked 503 Times in 372 Posts
Default

Figure out what kind of amperage you need to turn on the nav unit and then get the appropriate 12 volt to 5 volt stepdown converter and piggyback that into a 12 volt source in the fuse box with a BUSS Add-A-Fuse adapter.
zakmartin is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: