Notices
Audio Builds Audio projects and builds from my350z members

Stereo Install Help plz

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2003, 04:44 PM
Ludecrew

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stereo Install Help plz

Im kinda new to the whole stereo installation thing wondering if you guys could help me along with my install. Ive ordered these parts :
Focal 165k2
JL VR650-CSi
JL 300/4 Amp

coming soon :
10w3v2 JL sub
JL 500/1

So far ive taken off all the interior panels on the car needed for the installation, wondering what wires im gonna need for this whole install and how to hook up the amps and such... and any other help / tips would be appreciated.. and HU recco's.

Thanks
Old 02-12-2003, 04:10 AM
onecoolee

Received 23 Likes on 13 Posts
Default YIKES !

My friend...you will need to do some research, or enlist the help of a shop to get your wiring done for you. Its not difficult to hook up amps and components, but you do need to know what you are doing. For example you can't run an 18 gauge wire for the power lead to your amp, and have a 10 gauge ground. THere are alot of things you need to know, and you should not go into it blindly thinking its simple. You paid some good bread for your ride, and the last thing you want to do is screw up the electrical system, void your warranty, and end up putting a huge grey cloud over your Z.

If you know what you are doing, sorry, but it sounds to me like you are a newbie, especially considering you are asking about what type of wires to buy.

I will say this...adding speakers is not difficult, and you can use the factory wiring for this. You will need to know the wire color codes, and this is crucial. You may want to PM me for info concerning a factory service manual. You will need it ! It explains how to take stuff apart like the door panels, locations of wiring harness locations, electrical system components, and expecially schematics and color codes. Without it, you will be in the dark...