Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

A/X: B-Stock Set-up Sharing (Long Post)

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2005, 10:15 AM
BA Cutler

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/X: B-Stock Set-up Sharing (Long Post)

Here's my A/X set-up, looking for ideas. I've been doing this stuff for many years, not that I've learned it all... but this is not my first few seasons either. I'm pretty satisfied with my set-up, but I'm always open to ideas and other's opinions.

Part of my set-up is limited by the fact that I drive this car ('03 Touring) 100 miles a day as a commuter car... and love every mile of it. Went with a Touring due to my transition from a 95 Mercedes S320 as a commuter being quite a drastic change as it was. Weight disadvantage?... I don't have any room to talk about my car being 100 pounds over weight.

Shocks: Koni Sports (SA), run fronts with one turn off of full soft; run rears two turns off of full soft.

Swaybar: 350EVO on the stiffest position.

Alignment: (Set to maximize tire life, long commute, pricey Michelin Sport A/S tires for Northwest weather) Front: chamber -1.07 (R); -.83 (L); toe total +.12; caster +7.64 (R), +10.88 (L) Rear: chamber -1.22 (R&L); toe total +.20. Is there ever going to be a way to get some front chamber? How do body shops repair Zs that are out of spec?

Wheels: Enkei RPM2 18 X 8 (F/R), 35mm offset, use 5mm spacers to prevent mild front end rub. The Z's stock wheels have 30mm offset, my RPM2s have a 35mm offset; therefore, I'm allowed 5mm beyond stock... total of 10mm. Would it be worth while to run a 10mm spacer to maximize the allowable under SCCA rule book?