Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

Anxiety Before a Track Day

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2008, 08:33 PM
JETPILOT

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Anxiety Before a Track Day

Does anybody else get anxiety as bad as I do before a track day? I can't reasonably explian why I get the anxiety. I fly jets for a living and I don't get this anxiety. Is this something that goes away after time? I get it pretty bad which prevents me fro mgetting more than 1 or 2 hours of sleep the night before. Anyone else have this?
Old 12-30-2008, 08:49 PM
iZdeadpeople

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I road race motorcycles and I know what you mean. I could never sleep the night before my first few track days. Especially my first track day. When I saw the bikes going 150mph plus on the front straight, I got gag reflex. I think the anxiety is due to the fear of performing poorly (not holding your line, crashing, looking bad in front of people) more than anything else. At least it was for me. By the way, after I started actually racing, I could care less what people thought during track days

Go out there and have fun. Being on track is too expensive to NOT have fun. Remember that it is not your job, its a hobby. And yes, once you do it more often, the anxiety goes away. Its like anything else really....be happy your surrounded by a cage. I've bounced off walls at some tracks here on the east. I'm still injured from it.

EDIT: Go at your own pace and don't drive over your head

Last edited by iZdeadpeople; 12-30-2008 at 08:53 PM.
Old 12-30-2008, 09:16 PM
PDX_Racer

Received 39 Likes on 23 Posts

Originally Posted by JETPILOT