Notices
Brakes & Suspension 350Z stoppers, coils, shocks/dampers

Best Suspension Option for Dragstrip/Daily Driver Combo

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2006, 07:42 PM
mrtomcat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Suspension Option for Dragstrip/Daily Driver Combo

I want to start out that I know basically nothing about suspensions and even after reading all the stickies am not clear on what I need to get.

I am running on stock supsension at this point.
I have the APS TT at 445 whp (about to go to around 500) and run quite freaquently at the Drag Strip. I am actually competing at IDRC Events in the True Street Classes.
I want a setup that gives me better traction at the track and of course will not hurt my daily driver.
I recently lost traction at the track at 100mph and hit the wall with my rear before being able to get the car back under control (only minor damage, thank God).
I am an experienced driver both street and drag strip. I am running on ET Streets in the rear with upgraded axles...

Now I was told by getting a Camber kit and lowering it to 0 I will get better grip but will take a chance of the car breaking out easier on sharp turns and so I should set it to -.6 ? somthing like that...

Now I am also looking at a Coilover Kit like the Tein that should allow for better control and adjustability for street and track driving....

Here are my questions:
1) Do I need both a Camber kit and a Coilover kit or does either one take care of my problem and which one would be better?

2) If I get a Camber kit do I need both Rear and Front or just rear?

3) If I get a camber kit what would be the best setting to get better grip on the straight line without loosing too much control in curves since I was told I need an alignmet everytime that setting is changed.

4) If I get only a coilover kit what would be the best setting for a drag strip vs street?

5) am I completely off here and if so what is the best solution?