Notices
Brakes & Suspension 350Z stoppers, coils, shocks/dampers
View Poll Results: Which brakes are better for minor track use
Small brakes - Performance pads & Rotors
0%
Akebono brakes - Stock rotors and pads
100.00%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Stock Brakes (track pads/rotors) VS Akebono (stock rotors/pads)

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2017, 06:05 AM
DJKapeesh

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Stock Brakes (track pads/rotors) VS Akebono (stock rotors/pads)

I'm new to the 350z Community
I'm approaching my first SCC track day on the 18th
In an effort to prepare for track use and not die, I'm trying to make a decision

I have 2 choices of now

1# $500 - Stock small brakes
Stoptech front and rear performance pads
Stoptech front slotted rotors
Stoptech rear Cryotreated - slotted rotors

2# $1000 - Akebono
Front & Rear stock brakes w/ rotors
Front brackets for mounting
Front steel brake lines

3# CHEAP Braked and Rotors (of ceramic quality)
Cheap brakes and rotors I expect to destroy and replace after the track

I need to know if option #1 will be enough for track use or even if option #2 can handle 3x 10 minute sessions on the track?
What is the best option here? This doesn't include fluid and install prices

Last edited by DJKapeesh; 04-06-2017 at 10:59 AM.
Old 04-06-2017, 09:00 AM
ottacat

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts

To be honest, if this is your very first day you will be fine completely stock. If you do really want an upgrade you'll be fine with just upgraded pads on stock brakes and rotors. I'd also go with a Dot-4 brake fluid such as Motul 600. Getting SS lines is good but truly an option at this point.
The following users liked this post:
DJKapeesh (04-06-2017)
Old 04-06-2017, 09:09 AM
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 1,292 Likes on 896 Posts