Notices
Brakes & Suspension 350Z stoppers, coils, shocks/dampers

Installing new springs. Need some advice.

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2004, 03:12 PM
DrCold

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installing new springs. Need some advice.

I'm going to be installing my S-techs come this sat, and I was wondering if anyone knew the torque specs for the bolts I'll have to be removing. I'm pretty sure the install isn't that complicated, and I'll probably pick up a spring compressor on Friday. Just trying to make sure I cover all of my bases before I get started. JmanZ is comming over with his Z and he is having me install a set of S-techs on his car too.

Does anyone have any tips or tricks I should know before I get started. I've never done springs before, but hey, how hard can it be right?

Anyways, any help would be great. Thanks!
Old 04-05-2004, 04:02 PM
ronald_m

you need to remove the nut in the upper control arm but you need to tighten the nut first in order to loosen.
Old 04-06-2004, 11:18 AM
LaPuLaPu

A co-worker and I installed a set of Tein S Tech springs on my track z last Wednesday. Tips for the front: remove the strut bar and remove the one bolt holding the A arm assembly together. The rear is simply. Our total install time took us 3 hours.
Old 04-06-2004, 11:33 AM
LaPuLaPu

Here are some pictures

Good Luck with your install
Old 04-06-2004, 11:50 AM
DrCold

Sweet! Thanks for the pics. One question. Why did you have to remove the strut bar? It looks like you dont have to get to any bolts or anything.

The springs just showed up not 5 mins ago. I'm trying to resist the urge to do the install tonight after work. I should wait till the weekend just incase there are any problems and it takes me longer than I thought.

Does anyone know the torque specs by chance?
Old 04-06-2004, 11:51 AM
maxi_z

Is the picture of the 2 cars with the tein springs installed on both?
They don't look that lower...

Are the tein springs stiffer than standards?