Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Clutch help

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2009, 10:43 PM
Polska350Z

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch help

I just picked up my 06 6speed enthusiast. I love the car its amazing but one thing that seems to be bothering me is the clutch. It seems to rattle when the car is in neutral and makes funny noises when i shift and always bucks going from 2nd to 3rd and sometimes even into 4th. This is my first time fully driving a stick car but i have a good amount of experience doing it so i dont think its anything im doing. Another concern is that the starting off in 1st the clutch grabs high i let about 60-70% off the clutch before i feel it grab. The car also makes a rattling noise when i turn it off i can hear it right before the engine is completely off. Any advice, if it turns out i need a new clutch how much is it for a new stock 350 clutch with installation, or is this just normal for Z's, either way an feedback is appreciated because i dont really know many people who have Z's around me to ask. My friend who has been driving stick a while now said it seems to be slipping not grabbing the gears...does this mean its just time for a new clutch? Thanks a lot
Old 08-27-2009, 11:00 PM
M3ANMACHINE

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It's normal for a novice driver to be a little jerky (give it some time for yourself to get used to it), and the stock engagement point is usually fairly high. You can use the search function for more info on that.

Also the rattling caused when you shut the car off is also normal for Z's, it has a very chattery flywheel. Try shutting it off while in gear, with the clutch pressed all the way down, and it won't make that noise if it really bugs you.

Good Luck, and please make proper use of the search function next time
Old 08-28-2009, 04:55 AM
Z1 Performance
Former Sponsor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts