Notices

DIY belts replacement without special tool

Old 11-05-2017, 10:04 AM
  #1  
Xsellr8
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default DIY belts replacement without special tool

Hello everyone. Here is a video I made on replacing the drive belts. I really wish these cars had a spring tensioner, but my method works pretty well. Check it out Shown on a G35, but should be the same
Xsellr8 is offline  
The following 2 users liked this post by Xsellr8:
JMII (11-06-2017), snuffcity (11-05-2017)
Old 11-06-2017, 08:48 AM
  #2  
JMII
Registered User
 
JMII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 559
Received 35 Likes on 34 Posts
Thumbs up

Nice video... good job getting the camera into those tight spaces to show what needs to be done One correction: that is not a water pump, its just an idle pulley which can be removed as detailed here.

My AC belt finally snapped at 71K so I replaced it this weekend. I forget to count the turns and just used the twist method to determine the tension. I ran the car for 2 mins while still on the jack stands and got no squealing so I must have done it correctly. I then gave the tension screw 1 extra turn since FSM says to ensure the crank turns a few times before confirming the final proper tension.

Honestly the hardest part of this job is getting the car in the air and undertray off as lots of 10mm bolts/screws have to come out. After that it's a piece of cake. The only challenge is limited working space between the fans and engine block.
JMII is offline  
Old 02-03-2018, 04:52 AM
  #3  
Sean Wilson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 14
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mine are hella cracked. Thanks
Sean Wilson is offline  
Old 05-12-2018, 03:55 PM
  #4  
msk59
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Broken Arrow OK
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thank You. Very well demonstrated. Learned something new. This is HOW To videos should be.
msk59 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: