Exterior & Interior 350Z Body modification, interior styling and lighting
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The tint on my hatch is too light...

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2006, 07:25 PM
d!abolic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The tint on my hatch is too light...

When i bought the car a year ago, i asked for 38% on the sides and 28% on the back, but it looks like they put 38% on the back too. If i wanna make it really dark, i.e. 28 or even 18%, what should i do? Do i have to remove the existing, or do they just put another layer on top? Will it look good?
Old 08-26-2006, 07:26 PM
Fletch69z

They would remove the original and put on a new layer. If done by a professional I'm sure it will look good.
Old 08-26-2006, 07:57 PM
r26

i am a professional tinter. if the existing tint is good enough (minimal dust, good condition, and good cuts), it should be alright to put another layer over it. i prefer to take it off and put new film on.

as far as lightness, are talking about from the inside or the outside. note that back windows always looks lighter from the outside because of the light coming in from the windshield.
Old 08-26-2006, 08:49 PM
d!abolic

Originally Posted by r26
i am a professional tinter. if the existing tint is good enough (minimal dust, good condition, and good cuts), it should be alright to put another layer over it. i prefer to take it off and put new film on.

as far as lightness, are talking about from the inside or the outside. note that back windows always looks lighter from the outside because of the light coming in from the windshield.
Ohh, you're right. Mainly from the outside. Sounds like i'm gonna need 18% film?
Old 05-29-2007, 07:09 PM
kaizenro1

As to not to start a new thread, what is the darkest tint allowed in CA on front, side and rear glass?

Thanks
Old 05-29-2007, 07:52 PM
Elohite

Wow. Search FTW

I believe in CA almost everything is illegal for the front and sides, but any % in the rear. I am not sure of this though.