Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Would like to lighten up the Z but still keep street friendly

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2008, 03:20 PM
LSX-PWR

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Would like to lighten up the Z but still keep street friendly

Hey guys I am new to the board and I guess this make me a cherry all over again. I am new to the 350Z and I've only have owned Corvettes, Camaros and TA's. I have made the transition over here and I have to say I am glad to be here. Here's the thing I don't know much about this car and I was wondering if you all could help me out. I have an 05 blk/blk 6 speed that I would like to lighten up as much as I can but still keep it street friendly. I have done some searching here and I've seen that there are lots of parts that are made out of Carbon fiber. What's the best way to approach this? Here's are some of the parts that I would like to replace and if there's any other ones you all can think of please let me know. Thanks.
-Hood- Carbon fiber
-Fenders-Carbon fiber
-Lighter carpet if needed?
-Lighter wheels+ If there are Carbon fiber wheels let me know.
-Seats
-Rear hatch-Carbon fiber
Old 09-10-2008, 03:26 PM
chazor

some cf are only covers
you could try to buy that demo cf wheels for $10000+
Old 09-10-2008, 03:46 PM
LSX-PWR

Covers? See that's what I was I afraid off.
Old 09-10-2008, 03:53 PM
Willie

Here are some ideas...
https://my350z.com/forum/engine-driv...ed-your-z.html
Old 09-10-2008, 03:55 PM
Done Deal DR

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Edit: ^^ thats a great thread. Read that thoroughly.

There is only 10-15lbs (at BEST) to be lost by getting a CF hood, and that is with very expensive hoods. I'd recommend Mastergrade as they aren't too costly and are still light, you will barely lose any (if any) with a Seibon. I believe the stock hood is 23 lbs.

Theres no real loss to be had with CF fenders, more for looks than anything. We're talking about a few pounds here.