Notices
Exterior & Interior 350Z Body modification, interior styling and lighting
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

? after market hood with vents to reduce engine heat?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2004, 04:41 AM
DavidD

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ? after market hood with vents to reduce engine heat?

This might seem like a dumb question, so don’t flame me, I am an old man and I am just getting into this car mod stuff. It seems to me that the cars engine compartment gets very hot. Would an aftermarket hood with vents, like the, Hasemi Motorsports Carbon Fiber Bonnet, reduce the heat? And does it matter to reduce the heat? Also, do these aftermarket hoods (bonnet) even have holes where they appear to be or do you have to cut them out? Also is it easy to paint over carbon fiber? Thanks is advance.
Old 03-07-2004, 05:38 AM
Ricky
Banned

David, if you are planning to attend my meet on March 13, you can check out my new carbon fiber hood. It has a large reverse scoop, which when driving pulls colder air in, and allows warmer air to release.

Now unless you have a FI system, this is really going to make a dramatic difference. I personally bought it because I'm trying to build a show car, and think it looks amazing.

Contact "Wicked4u2c" on this board, or Wicked4u2c@aol.com for more information on the new carbon fiber vented hoods. Let him know I sent you, please

And finally, it's very easy to paint over CF.. the hood usually comes with the surface clearcoated, so it's smooth as glass already, and all you have to do is paint over it, and clearcoat over that.
Old 03-07-2004, 05:42 AM
Ricky
Banned

Forgot the picture.. here is what my hood looks like.. based on the design, you can see the air will go over the ramp, and be pulled into the vent.

(PS- They have many more styles of hoods, so contact Wicked4u2c )
Attached Thumbnails ? after market hood with vents to reduce engine heat?-vs.jpg  
Old 03-07-2004, 05:42 AM
Ricky
Banned

Driver view..