Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Racing Harness Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2004, 10:27 AM
03 Z for ME

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Racing Harness Question

OK guys, I'm new to the interior mods. I'm starting to look for some new racing seats, (Spacro, NISMO, Recaro), and 4 point (or better) harnesses.

Can anyone tell me if I MUST install a harness bar behind the seats to install the actual harnesses? If so, will I lose any room behind the seats? I'm 6'3" and my seat is back pretty far. Finally, if I find a good deal on the actual harnesses, before I get the seats, can the harnesses be used with the stock seats until I upgrade them as well?

Oh yeah, for those of you out there with 4 point harnesses installed, do you simply not use the factory seat belts, or have you actually removed them?

Thanks for any info....
Old 03-14-2004, 11:25 AM
Audito350Z

Default Re: Racing Harness Question

Originally posted by 03 Z for ME
OK guys, I'm new to the interior mods. I'm starting to look for some new racing seats, (Spacro, NISMO, Recaro), and 4 point (or better) harnesses.
are you looking just for looks? or do you do DEs and track events?

Can anyone tell me if I MUST install a harness bar behind the seats to install the actual harnesses? If so, will I lose any room behind the seats? I'm 6'3" and my seat is back pretty far. Finally, if I find a good deal on the actual harnesses, before I get the seats, can the harnesses be used with the stock seats until I upgrade them as well?
You have to have something to attach the shoulder belts to in the car. And, you want to keep the attachment point as even with shoulder level as possible. A harness bar that connects to the B-pillars behind the seats is the best option. A full roll cage is another.