Notices
Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

My OEM-style boost gauge project

Old 07-17-2006, 06:07 PM
  #81  
Greg'Z33
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: McKinney, Texas
Posts: 252
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Weqster
I would not by an in-accurate boost gauge. The mechanic gauge is fine and will be accurate as hell when configured properly. My best advice would be to it to someone who knows what they are doing in terms of gauges and see whats involved in reconfiguring it/making a custom sweep guage. Custom would be the best way and would reduce costs/labour on your part. U will be able to create a sweep and scale to suit everyones needs that way..... just a thought!
Wegster,
Everything you have just suggested is exactly what I've already done. The fact is, when Westpak installed the prototype on his 350Z, he said it read about 1.5~2 PSI higher although he didn't specify at what range. I can always "fudge" the gauge face a little to make it seem more accurate. Let me be very clear here: I don't expect anyone to beat a path to my door to buy one of these conversions. I'm trying to appeal to a small segment of the F/I crowd that might not want A-piller gauges or gauges in the center cubby hole.
Greg'Z33 is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 08:17 PM
  #82  
MI 35th
OGPremierMafia
iTrader: (16)
 
MI 35th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 5,108
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am going to Bump this due to yerning interest in this thread from a bunch of newer users!
MI 35th is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 03:58 AM
  #83  
Greg'Z33
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: McKinney, Texas
Posts: 252
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I decided to go back to the drawing boards on this project. I'm currently in the process of retrofitting the OEM electrical BOOST gauge used in the 280ZX & 1st gen 300ZX Turbos in place of the mechanical movement used in my original prototype. I don't know if the new movement will support the weight of the plastic pointer needle used in the current 350Z OEM center gauges, though. In addition, as a further nod/tribute to the older Z's, I'm in the process of incorporating an oil temp/oil pressure gauge into where the current OIL gauge is now. This was also done on the 280ZX/300ZX Turbos. So far, it's been a b**ch since it involves heavy cutting/modifying of the plastic housing and relocating some surface mount components (transistors, resistors) on the OEM 350Z center gauge cluster but if I can pull this off, I think it'll look kick a**. Stay tuned!
Greg'Z33 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 05:51 AM
  #84  
THE TECH
Registered User
iTrader: (154)
 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hills of Anaheim
Posts: 10,737
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

We await your progress Greg. Thanks!
THE TECH is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:45 AM
  #85  
Acree
Registered User
iTrader: (29)
 
Acree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 2,342
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Any update? I don't even have boost and I want to see the end of this project.

-Acree
Acree is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:49 AM
  #86  
THE TECH
Registered User
iTrader: (154)
 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hills of Anaheim
Posts: 10,737
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

He may be busy. He mentioned in another thread that he was going to be moving to TX I think.
THE TECH is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 01:15 PM
  #87  
Greg'Z33
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: McKinney, Texas
Posts: 252
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, I want to see the end of it too The original BOOST gauge used a mechanical movement but I was not happy with it. I decided to go all out (and back to the drawing board). I have successfully put the electromechanical movement from a 280ZX turbo in place and have made a crude gauge face. The nice thing about this set-up over the mechanical one is that it'll register down to 25 In.Hg on the vacuum side and up to 15 PSI on the boost using it's OEM MAP sensor. In addition, in a nod toward the old-school Z heritage, I'm doing what was done on the 280ZX & 1st gen 300ZX turbos; The NA versions had an oil pressure gauge and a volts gauge. The turbo versions deleted the volts gauge and sustituted a boost gauge in it's place and in addition made the oil pressure guage a combination oil pressure/oil temp gauge. This part of the project is still under way as I finally figured out a way to make the oil temp gauge needle come down out of the top of the cluster. You won't believe the solution and if I can get it to work I think it'll be totally kick a**. Now I know many will simply say "[I]Why bother, the stock gauges aren't accurate, blah blah blah......"; I say true but it'll be accurate [I]enough for my purposes and I'm doing all of this with an eye toward OEM authenticity. I'll post pics at a later time. I'm moving to McKinney, Texas on February 19th and can't wait to get settled in and meet some of the Dallas area 350Z owners. Thanks for bumping up this thread, I appreciate your enthusiasm.
Greg'Z33 is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 10:14 AM
  #88  
Greg'Z33
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: McKinney, Texas
Posts: 252
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some 280ZX DNA in my gauge project

I've turned my attention, for the time being, to the oil pressure gauge portion of my ongoing project. Here's a link for some info and pics.

Greg

https://my350z.com/forum/showthread....88#post3563788
Greg'Z33 is offline  
Old 01-15-2016, 06:18 PM
  #89  
craig12895
Registered User
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,164
Received 159 Likes on 128 Posts
Default

Im going to update this 9 year old thread...

I would love for Greg to chime back in but who knows if he is still around.

Does anybody know how many of these OEM style boost gauges are around? Because I feel as if I may have just picked up the only one ever produced

craig12895 is offline  
The following users liked this post:
kno (01-15-2016)
Old 01-16-2016, 04:19 AM
  #90  
Thomas.
Registered User
 
Thomas.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: kinda Europe
Posts: 30
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Where did you these? I want one

Do you have picture of the PCB?
Thomas. is offline  
Old 01-16-2016, 04:58 AM
  #91  
craig12895
Registered User
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,164
Received 159 Likes on 128 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Thomas. View Post
Where did you these? I want one

Do you have picture of the PCB?
PCB meaning the back of the gauge? Like how it is wired?

And easiest way to explain how I got it: A close friend of mine used to be stationed in Cali, he bought a turbo z years ago with this gauge in it. The z was wrecked and he pulled the gauge out. I never heard anything of it and now he lives in PA near me and posted it for sale and I told him I would come grab it. Im putting it in today to see if it still reads anything. I don't have boost in yet but I can at least see if the vacuum will read
craig12895 is offline  
Old 01-16-2016, 04:30 PM
  #92  
Thomas.
Registered User
 
Thomas.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: kinda Europe
Posts: 30
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by craig12895 View Post
PCB meaning the back of the gauge? Like how it is wired?
Yep, I wonder if the boost gauge is driven by a stepper motor or not.

350z uses CAN-bus to transmit all kind of data including oil pressure, speed, etc while on an older car these signals are likely analog

Originally Posted by craig12895 View Post
And easiest way to explain how I got it: A close friend of mine used to be stationed in Cali, he bought a turbo z years ago with this gauge in it. The z was wrecked and he pulled the gauge out. I never heard anything of it and now he lives in PA near me and posted it for sale and I told him I would come grab it. Im putting it in today to see if it still reads anything. I don't have boost in yet but I can at least see if the vacuum will read
I see
Thomas. is offline  
Old 01-16-2016, 04:38 PM
  #93  
craig12895
Registered User
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,164
Received 159 Likes on 128 Posts
Default

Well unfortunately I went to install the gauge today and it is not functional. A few of the wires in the back were no longer connected (you can see in the picture). The mechanical gauge portion seems to be broken. It looks like it used to be glued to the green circuit board but it no longer is and you can move it around and the needle on the gauge moves with it.

So I pulled the gauge back off and reattached all of the wires and went to plug it in with hope it would decide to work and it won't do much of anything. The boost gauge doesn't light up, it doesn't move at all when I rev the engine. It was a depressing day. I wish I could get it functioning again but I do not have the electrical abilities to tear it apart and diagnose/correct it

craig12895 is offline  
Old 01-16-2016, 05:38 PM
  #94  
Thomas.
Registered User
 
Thomas.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: kinda Europe
Posts: 30
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by craig12895 View Post
So I pulled the gauge back off and reattached all of the wires and went to plug it in with hope it would decide to work and it won't do much of anything. The boost gauge doesn't light up, it doesn't move at all when I rev the engine. It was a depressing day. I wish I could get it functioning again but I do not have the electrical abilities to tear it apart and diagnose/correct it

Did you connect the boost gauge to intake plenum?
Thomas. is offline  
Old 01-16-2016, 06:36 PM
  #95  
craig12895
Registered User
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,164
Received 159 Likes on 128 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Thomas. View Post
Did you connect the boost gauge to intake plenum?
Yea I used the sealed nipple that comes factory on the plenum
craig12895 is offline  
Old 02-02-2016, 06:06 PM
  #96  
craig12895
Registered User
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,164
Received 159 Likes on 128 Posts
Default

For anybody concerned about this gauge in the future. I have passed it on to my350z member "Cux350z". Hopefully he can make some progress with it and put it back to work.
craig12895 is offline  
Old 02-05-2016, 07:14 AM
  #97  
Cux350z
hatersgonnahate
iTrader: (162)
 
Cux350z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 11,660
Received 250 Likes on 187 Posts
Default


Last edited by Cux350z; 02-05-2016 at 07:16 AM.
Cux350z is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: My OEM-style boost gauge project


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: