Notices
Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

Turbo Techies, please help

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2003, 07:21 AM
toykilla

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Turbo Techies, please help

I am new to engine mods/turbos etc...
Would it be better to go with a turbo "kit" such as the Greddy one coming out later this year, or have an experienced engine shop build a custom turbo setup. Please give me pros/cons of each if any.

I have talked with a recommended shop already and they already have one z lined up for a custom kit at the end of summer and would like me to be a second "prototype" z. The first guy is going for 450-500rwhp, and they quoted him $10-13k.
I would like to start at around 350rwhp and upgrade it over time. They will strive to meet my specifications, so i would guess maybe 350rwhp would be in the $6-9k range. They said over 400rwhp, the engine and trans must be strengthened, so the price goes up.

Would getting a kit limit my car's potential later on, and/or would i have to replace some of the major components in the kit to increase power?

Please help !
Old 05-15-2003, 07:32 AM
Zaphod 350z

My OPINION...

Having a competent experienced shop build you a set up would no doubt yield more horsepower than a Greddy kit. The Greddy kit is designed to be a bolt on application for ANY Z. Your shop will make you a custom set up that can be tuned to your car. They would no doubt change your fuel system (DFI) and motor components.

However, it will be considerably more expensive than the "over the counter" kits. Main reason is greddy will be making many kits so their materials cost will be lower and they can cash in on their design and fabrication costs.
Old 05-15-2003, 08:41 AM
zland
Sponsor
Sport Z Magazine

Received 46 Likes on 35 Posts

Greddy will have a lot of tubos on the street soon. If they are Engineered poorly, they will have a lot of Liability thus my bet is they will be more conservative thus less hp.