Notices
Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

Looking to turbo the G

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2020, 05:07 PM
Rainy

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Looking to turbo the G

Hey guys so I'm new to forced induction and I'm really wanting a sizable power gain for the 05 g35 5at coupe. Yes I have done research even though this is still a noob thread it's more concerning what I can do on a budget. I have a couple questions -

If I go the stock internals route - how much can I expect to spend on a complete turbo or supercharger kit (most likely used)? Will the 350z kits work exactly the same on the G35s or is there modding needed?

From what I've seen the Turbknetics kit looks to be the cheapest at around $2500 but doesnt include fuel management? 400rwhp would be great, will stock injectors and a walbro 255 be enough for that?

If I wait on forced induction and buy a cam, how much can I expect to pay with install and what all will I need? Just cam or do I need heads or porting as well?

Right now my car has the usual bolt ons - carbon fiber z tube and jwt pop charger , Injen true dual exhaust, 5/16 plenum spacer, A/C belt removed.

I am used to 400rwhp and 410 gears... my old car was a Ls1 trans am before it got totalled. I do all my mods/work myself, just never done fi. I love this g35 but it needs power bad.
Old 02-18-2020, 08:51 PM
813_350Z

Received 318 Likes on 247 Posts

If you have not already done so then it is highly suggested to read through this thread:

https://my350z.com/forum/forced-induction/360064-forced-induction-for-noobs.html

If
you have, do it again, several times.

Realistically, how much are you looking to spend and how much power are you looking to make? Your budget is going to limit your power since 400hp is a stretch on a stock engine without reliability concerns.