Notices
G35/G37 General discussion and news for Infiniti's G or for full Forums check out MyG37.com or G35Driver.com

Replacing blown rev-up with non-rev engine.

Old 06-22-2017, 10:33 AM
  #1  
raygun
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Replacing blown rev-up with non-rev engine.

My 06 6MT coupe threw a rod awhile back, no doubt due to the [email protected]#!!! oil consumption issues. I should've kept a better eye on it, apparently, but it made it 120k miles.

I now have a complete JDM non-rev-up VQ35DE, with matching harness and computer.

What sort of issues should I expect after I get it in the car? I'll use the harness and computer that came with the engine.

I'm not sure if this ECU came out of an auto or manual car, so I imagine there will be some issues which may require a re-flash or ECU swap.

What other issues should I expect?

Thanks for your time!

Last edited by raygun; 06-22-2017 at 10:37 AM.
raygun is offline  
Old 06-22-2017, 01:44 PM
  #2  
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM
iTrader: (62)
 
dkmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 6,754
Liked 688 Times in 478 Posts
Default

I suggest you look at the harness ends of both the DE and revup engines to make sure they are identical. No telling how many pin outs the rev out had compared to the DE, but you might be able to tell something by looking carefully. I wouldn't be surprised if there's a CEL or two on when you get the swap completed.
dkmura is offline  
Old 06-27-2017, 02:29 PM
  #3  
raygun
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dkmura View Post
I suggest you look at the harness ends of both the DE and revup engines to make sure they are identical. No telling how many pin outs the rev out had compared to the DE, but you might be able to tell something by looking carefully. I wouldn't be surprised if there's a CEL or two on when you get the swap completed.
Thanks for the response. I'm using the computer and engine harness that came with the new engine, so I don't think that's going to be an issue.

I'm mostly concerned with auto vs manual errors.

Last edited by raygun; 06-27-2017 at 02:32 PM.
raygun is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: