Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Clutch Noise... Is this Normal?

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2002, 10:25 AM
JimmysZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch Noise... Is this Normal?

Hey guys...

I hear a noise coming from my Z that I am not sure if it is something to be worried about or not. I am new to owing a 6sp and my Z only has about 85 miles on it, so I am not sure if this is normal or because its not broken in yet.

The noise occurs when I am parked in nuetral, and the clutch is NOT engaged. What I hear is something rotating, as if many ball bearings are rotating around a some sort of disk or plate. When I engage the clutch, the noise goes away. WHen I release it, its back. I park in my garage close to a wall with the drivers door open. The sound seems to be more evident when parked in garage as opposed to outside, prabably because the sounds bounce off the wall.

Again, not sure if this is normal with a stick or not. Sorry, but I am inexperienced with manuals.

Thanks in advance...
Old 12-17-2002, 06:15 AM
ChicagoEZ

my Z does the exact same thing but not all the time it seems like it only happens on a inline? Kinda sounds like a (DRY CLUTCH) on a ducatti
Old 12-17-2002, 08:32 AM
JimmysZ

46 views and no comments except one...

Come on guys...

Thanks...
Old 12-17-2002, 08:42 AM
TalonZ

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have lots of experience driving manual transmissions. In my opinion, what you're hearing is normal. Every car I've driven with a manual transmission emits a similar noise. The noise will not decrease or increase as the car "breaks in."

Even though the transmission is in neutral and the clutch is disengaged, components in the transmission are still turning.
Old 12-20-2002, 11:51 AM
jeffa55