Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Clutch engages all the way at the top??

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2008, 01:22 PM
ZenDragon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch engages all the way at the top??

Ive had my Z for a couple weeks now and I test drove a few Z's before deciding on this one. During my test driving both new and used Z's I dont remember anything like what I am experiencing with this car. I have been driving a stick for over 5 years now so I don't think this is really a issue of skill, though this clutch feels significantly different than any other car I have owned, so it may just be an matter of getting used to it.

Nevertheless, I wanted to ask here if this was normal before I make a fool out of myself at the dealership trying to get them to fix something that's not broken.

Basically the clutch doesn't grab until maybe the top 1/4 or less of releasing the peddle. Most cars I have driven would "feather" somewhere near the middle and grab hard at 3/4s, but it seems like this car doesn't grab at all until 3/4s. This has resulted in some rather embarrassing stalls which I have never really had a problem with in my previous vehicles.

Please tell me I am not crazy.
Old 05-02-2008, 02:22 PM
TreeFiddyZee
Do WHAAAAT!?

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

There is a DIY on here as to how to adjust the pedal travel. First question though. How many miles does it have on it? If it's excessive, the clutch could just be shot.
Old 05-02-2008, 02:39 PM
ZenDragon

Originally Posted by TreeFiddyZee
There is a DIY on here as to how to adjust the pedal travel. First question though. How many miles does it have on it? If it's excessive, the clutch could just be shot.
I bought it used with about 44000 miles on it.

Still have a while to go on the factory drivetrain warranty, I just want to make sure I get these kinds of things fixed before the warranty is up, so Ive been very attentive (maybe paranoid) to all the possible issues.