Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

FIX for gas gauge fluctuations, hard to fill

Old 04-27-2012, 10:06 AM
  #21  
bishop_98
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 229
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by F2CMaDMaXX View Post
Nice.

That's exactly what you want. I need to do this on mine sooner than later, whilst it's no where near as bad as yours, it's getting quite annoying.

I found this link in England, slightly clearer instructions and gives details to test it before putting it back in so you know it will work correctly (if you cleaned it enough)

http://www.350z-uk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=56966
I "don't have required rights to veiw attatchment". I am registered with a limited number of sites. Thanks for sharing, though.
bishop_98 is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 10:25 AM
  #22  
F2CMaDMaXX
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
F2CMaDMaXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oregon from England
Posts: 1,751
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Hmm, I might host that file to allow access to others.
F2CMaDMaXX is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 05:44 PM
  #23  
F2CMaDMaXX
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
F2CMaDMaXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oregon from England
Posts: 1,751
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Here ya go.

Fuel Gauge Fix


Obviously it's in England, so just reverse the references to drivers side and passenger side.
F2CMaDMaXX is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 04:48 AM
  #24  
bishop_98
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 229
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by F2CMaDMaXX View Post
Here ya go.

Fuel Gauge Fix


Obviously it's in England, so just reverse the references to drivers side and passenger side.

My hero. Thanks.
bishop_98 is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 07:28 AM
  #25  
binder
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: terre haute, IN; STL, MO
Posts: 6,457
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

This fixes the gauge but as the title says it fixes the hard to fill...it will not.

The hard to fill is a backpressure problem in the tank that won't be fixed with this sensor cleaning.

For the most part mine fills normal but every now and then i get the day when i have to fill it at the speed of glacial drift in order to keep it from turning the pump off. Don't know why it does this so i just deal with it.
binder is offline  
Old 09-30-2013, 07:10 AM
  #26  
rebelscum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: tennessee
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just had this problem and no one on here could answer my question... Found this old post. Very interesting. Needs to be closer to the top, so up it goes....
rebelscum is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 06:50 AM
  #27  
z334life
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Did this the other day which took 15 minutes. Very easy to do. I used electronic sensor cleaner with q-tips and the fuel gauge went from below empty to 1/8 tank! There wasn't much residue on the q-tip after cleaning but I guess that's all that was required to remove from the sensors. Just awesome!
z334life is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 12:42 PM
  #28  
F2CMaDMaXX
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
F2CMaDMaXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oregon from England
Posts: 1,751
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by z334life View Post
Did this the other day which took 15 minutes. Very easy to do. I used electronic sensor cleaner with q-tips and the fuel gauge went from below empty to 1/8 tank! There wasn't much residue on the q-tip after cleaning but I guess that's all that was required to remove from the sensors. Just awesome!
This is what i did and what i experienced the same thing.

These days it still works, except i get one point at about 1/8th and it suddenly drops to E for a few minutes before correcting again.

I'm getting over 400 mile range per tank no problems now.
F2CMaDMaXX is offline  
Old 01-04-2014, 12:30 AM
  #29  
CT350Zblue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Fuel gauge read 3/4 when the pump stopped (even over-filled the tank to check - not ideal but definite low reading on the gauge).
Did this fix and filled up until first stop on pump. Reading is slightly over full tank (with digital reading over 635km dte).
Brilliant fix! Thanks!
CT350Zblue is offline  
Old 07-23-2014, 11:55 PM
  #30  
roca_sv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: El Salvador
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

just asking, i heard that this fix needs to be done quite often, i heard a guy who needed to clean every 6 months due to mis readings coming back
roca_sv is offline  
Old 07-24-2014, 09:01 PM
  #31  
F2CMaDMaXX
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
F2CMaDMaXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oregon from England
Posts: 1,751
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Yeah, mine isn't as good now as it was when i did it, so will have to pull again at some point.
F2CMaDMaXX is offline  
Old 07-24-2014, 09:08 PM
  #32  
SR71
Lead Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM
iTrader: (1)
 
SR71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 5,807
Received 305 Likes on 166 Posts
Default

I loath my gas gauge, I swear it functions exactly like a women's emotions, up, down, all over the place. Maybe that's why we all refer to our cars as women when we name them lol.
SR71 is offline  
Old 09-15-2014, 10:10 AM
  #33  
Larry Hargrove
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fix for gas gauge

Where would I find access to these sending units on my '04 roadster?
Larry Hargrove is offline  
Old 09-15-2014, 11:00 AM
  #34  
92K1500
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
92K1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Posts: 1,458
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

I tried this a couple months ago. I get a better gauge reading but it still doesn't show completely full and now instead of saying I'm out at 3/4 tank it waits till about 3/8 tank to lie to me and say I'm empty.
92K1500 is offline  
Old 09-15-2014, 04:38 PM
  #35  
F2CMaDMaXX
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
F2CMaDMaXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Oregon from England
Posts: 1,751
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

It certainly helps, and i think mine has just started not showing full again, but it's darn close.

I think when i pull it out again, i will use some sandpaper on the contacts and see if it's a bad earth/contact issue.
F2CMaDMaXX is offline  
Old 09-15-2014, 09:24 PM
  #36  
thespottedcow
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
thespottedcow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 239
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

In regards to it not filling all the way, I've found if you put it on the slowest notch while pumping, it will fill all the way. I know before when I just pulled the handle all the way up it would only fill to 3/4 full. Also, my car is picky and will only fill all the way up at certain gas stations/pumps.
thespottedcow is offline  
Old 09-16-2014, 05:32 AM
  #37  
92K1500
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
92K1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Posts: 1,458
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

I always use the first notch no matter what vehicle I'm in. Sure it takes a little longer but you get more fluid and less vapor for your money.
92K1500 is offline  
Old 09-27-2014, 08:51 PM
  #38  
DeusExMaxima
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 578
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Larry Hargrove View Post
Where would I find access to these sending units on my '04 roadster?
Im wondering the same thing..Ill figure it out and let u know.
DeusExMaxima is offline  
Old 09-28-2014, 05:37 AM
  #39  
92K1500
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
92K1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Posts: 1,458
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

I've never been in a roadster but do you still have the glovebox behind the passenger seat like the rest of us?
92K1500 is offline  
Old 10-15-2014, 01:29 PM
  #40  
CFAUVEL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sarasota
Posts: 46
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default who has the OHM range for the two fuel level senders?

haven't tried my passenger one yet, but behind driver's it reads 43 empty and 1.9 or so full.
CFAUVEL is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: FIX for gas gauge fluctuations, hard to fill


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: