Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Just got alignment, steering wheel slightly off, pulls to the right

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2015, 09:47 AM
DesertSleeper

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Just got alignment, steering wheel slightly off, pulls to the right

Hello fellas, I replaced my shocks last weekend so got an alignment yesterday. When I drove off I noticed the steering wheel is not completely centered, I have to steer slightly left to go straight, and if I let the steering wheel go at freeway speeds it pulls to the right hard.

I took it back to the alignment shop (who I've been using for a couple of years now with no previous issues), he put it back on the rack and, per the computer, the steering wheel is dead centered. He assures me the alignment is perfect and I must have a defective tire.

I replaced tires less than two months ago, and even after replacing the shocks last weekend I could have sworn the steering wheel was straight and it wouldn't pull. He claims the steering wheel was way off before the alignment and I probably just didn't notice it.

Has anyone ever experienced anything similar before?

Thank you in advance for any input
Old 06-18-2015, 09:55 AM
JCat
---------------
Premier Member

Received 73 Likes on 48 Posts

If your mechanic or alignment shop can't fix it, they are not very good at what they do.

Visit a TOP-TIER tire shop. Not one of the cheap chains. Find one that is an expert at problem solving these type of problems.

(My "guy" for example, is on a NASCAR team and is responsible for tuning the suspensions)

I discovered that most of the cheap chain stores THINK they have good equipment and technicians . . . . . but it is simply not true.

Last edited by JCat; 06-18-2015 at 09:56 AM.
Old 06-18-2015, 10:13 AM
DesertSleeper