Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Help: Engine will stall in Park and Reverse

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2020, 11:48 AM
oolongtea

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Help: Engine will stall in Park and Reverse

Hello! I am new to my350z, so please excuse me if I misuse or ask some strange questions/describe things horribly. But recently, I purchased a AT 2004 350z. She came with problems, and sought out the fix those. However, I am having issues with the main problem.

The problem: She starts fine, but will die after a few seconds in park. If I put her in reverse, she dies within a few seconds. If I put her in drive and drive around lightly, she won't die, but her RPM is incredibly low(especially during idle, in which it will hang around 600 for a few seconds, then drop to 400 and almost stall- I can hear the engine struggling to stay alive, and so I will pump the accelerator a bit and she will be ok). Another strange thing that happens is that when she is about to die, all of the maintenance lights in the dashboard turn on, and my fans will blow at max... I am struggling to find the root of the problem. I know that the previous owner did not take care of her for the 2 years he had her, and that the battery's positive terminal would disconnect every morning and he would have to connect it to start the car.

I have already cleaned the MAF sensor and deep cleaned the throttle body and air intake + changed out the air filter. I noticed that when I changed out the filter, the case was not properly fitted, as a piece had broken off, therefore letting in massive amounts of air without going through the filter. The result of this was an incredible amount of gunk inside the throttle body, which I cleaned.