Notices
Northern California San Francisco, Oakland, Sacramento, San Jose, Pleasanton, etc.

wow! first time I've seen lidar used at NIGHT on South Bay highways

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2008, 11:21 PM
cwerdna

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down wow! first time I've seen lidar used at NIGHT on South Bay highways

So, I've been commuting to from south San Jose to Mountain View for >3 years, mostly on 85 and sometimes via 101 then 87. I've seen the squad of 3 to 5 CHP (at least 1 w/laser) in the day randomly but today was the FIRST time I've seen laser used at night on 85, err... anywhere.

At ~10:45 pm on 85 south tonight in my Prius (near Camden Ave exit), my laser detector suddenly goes off. WTH??! I was doing ~70. Crap! Soon after, I see a car way ahead of me hit his brakes.

Sure enough, I see a CHP cruiser next to the center device southbound w/his lights off and a door open. There's no way I could've seen him before he nailed me w/laser. Soon after, I started getting radar detections so I unplugged and removed my radar detector.

Watch out guys...

I exited at Camden and parked w/my lights off (in case he wanted to come after me). It didn't look like he got in his car and followed. Whew.
Old 03-27-2008, 06:43 AM
scotts300
350Z-holic

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by cwerdna
So, I've been commuting to from south San Jose to Mountain View for >3 years, mostly on 85 and sometimes via 101 then 87. I've seen the squad of 3 to 5 CHP (at least 1 w/laser) in the day randomly but today was the FIRST time I've seen laser used at night on 85, err... anywhere.

At ~10:45 pm on 85 south tonight in my Prius (near Camden Ave exit), my laser detector suddenly goes off. WTH??! I was doing ~70. Crap! Soon after, I see a car way ahead of me hit his brakes.