Notices
Southern California San Diego, Los Angeles, Orange County, Inland Empire, etc.

Plan on moving to OC from NYC

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2004, 01:42 PM
LemanZ Sunset

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Plan on moving to OC from NYC

Hey folks,

I was planning on moving out to the OC area in about two years after my wife finishes her medschool. My main concern moving out there from NYC is the job market there. I am currently a Network Engineer Consulant with a very nice job here in NYC. My company specializes in the legal sector. The firms I have done most of my work are:

Shearman & Sterling
Cadwalader Wickersham & Taft
Weil Gotchel Mangles

I am just curious about the job market out there. I am really sick of NYC as I have lived here now for about 22 years ( I am 24).
Old 03-16-2004, 03:27 PM
dczoner

The job market is decent. Its not spectacular but there's still plenty of work to be found for competent people, and the industry is better here than it is in the Silicon Valley.

Lots of industry in Irvine, but depending on how averse you are to commuting I'd think about living in Huntington Beach, or if you're more bling, Newport Beach or Laguna Beach. I guess it probably also depends on where your wife works too.
Old 03-16-2004, 03:42 PM
EL Diablo

I just did that a few months ago! NYC to LA

The tech market is not so hot right now.

You say your sick of NY? I know how you feel but believe me your
gonna miss the **** out of it after you leave.

Wait until they close the bar at 130 AM and your on the way home at 2AM.

Hell in NYC the party is just getting started at that time.

Lots of Z's out here!
LA is a great town but your gonna need to adjust.

Good Luck
Old 03-18-2004, 11:27 AM
BullishZ