Notices
Tuning Reflashes, Piggybacks, Standalone ECUs

Tuning a utec

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2008, 02:48 PM
Floridaboy1605

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tuning a utec

I was wondering if anyone could break down how to tune a utec cause im trying to learn the basics of tuning.... just seeing if anyone wants to help me down that road??
Old 02-03-2008, 02:50 PM
Audible Mayhem
My350z

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

tuning is an artform that is put together with years of knowledge of how engines work and why things happen when you do certain things.

best way is to just do it. you might blow some stuff up but at least the second time around you will know....
Old 02-03-2008, 03:15 PM
Floridaboy1605

I was just looking for some help on what the numbers mean on the airfuel and timing!!!! how they convert to afr's and timing!!!
Old 02-03-2008, 03:29 PM
88G35

I am no pro tuner and I agree with Audible Mayhem I am just doing a lot of trial and error on my Haltech plugging in different numbers to achieve a certain goal. Shoot me a PM as I have worked with the UTEC and maybe I can help you out.
Old 02-05-2008, 03:04 PM
2slo2bfurious

Try this http://www.wrxhackers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2469 even tho its for the WRX Utec, it gives you an idea of where to start. Then after that practice makes perfect... In the end nothing beats a good professional dyno tune backed by a professional street tune, however knowing more about your car is always better since you its not always feasible to get a new tune after every mod/weather change/etc.
Old 02-05-2008, 05:17 PM
QuadCam

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

get a TXS tuner wideband to go along with your UTEC. YOu'll need/want it if you are planning on self tuning.
Old 02-06-2008, 01:47 AM
Ziggyrama

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Audible Mayhem
tuning is an artform that is put together with years of knowledge of how engines work and why things happen when you do certain things.