Notices
Tuning Reflashes, Piggybacks, Standalone ECUs

Wire harness help! Car wont start...

Old 12-06-2010, 08:21 AM
  #1  
350zion
SHOWTIMERAY
Thread Starter
iTrader: (58)
 
350zion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern NJ / Vacation on MARS
Posts: 1,876
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Wire harness help! Car wont start...

I was installing an aftermarket ecu today and while installing it had to make room in the passenger side foot well for the additional wiring. The car was running, while I unplugged a group of wires which led under the rug. When I did that the car shut off. I plugged it back in, but the car wont start. The aftermarket ecu was unplugged at the time and the factory ecu was running the car. I checked where the wires went and found out its a ground for the harness. Now the LED bulb on the dash stays solid when my key is in the ignition, and I crank it but it wont start. The wierd thing is that me and my cousin built an S14 w/ a VQ and we cant get it started due to which lloks like the same issue. Not 100% sure these problems are the same. Has anyone experienced this problem? Im looking for any ideas or thoughts you guys may have....
350zion is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 11:30 AM
  #2  
Dynosty
MY350Z.COM Sponsor
iTrader: (26)
 
Dynosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 2,137
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Have you checked over your fuses yet to see if you blew anything? One box by the driver knee, and one in the engine bay behind the battery (under the plastic cowl).
__________________

Phone: 502.384.8882. We are a performance parts distributor, with services including
dyno tuning, high performance engine builds, and turn-key packages from 400-1000+whp
Dynosty is online now  
Old 12-06-2010, 12:48 PM
  #3  
djamps
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
djamps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 4,492
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Unplug the battery and let everything sit for an hour or two, reconnect and try again. You probably threw the ECU into failsafe mode. Worst case you fried the ECU.

Never, never plug/unplug engine/ECU wiring while the battery is connected. Much less while running...
djamps is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 01:21 PM
  #4  
350zion
SHOWTIMERAY
Thread Starter
iTrader: (58)
 
350zion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern NJ / Vacation on MARS
Posts: 1,876
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Usually I'm good with disconnecting the battery, but I was freezing my *** off today, and my brain was in dumb mode. All I could think about was heat! I'm gonna check all the fuses Wen I get home later. Then do the battery disconnect if I find nothing.. As far as frying the ecu it would be a shame if this thing was that sensitive but I wouldn't be surprised.... Ill get back at ya later.

Thanks guys...
Ray
350zion is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 06:12 PM
  #5  
raycs7
Registered User
iTrader: (42)
 
raycs7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: so fla , tnt
Posts: 447
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

NATS
raycs7 is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 06:14 PM
  #6  
Dynosty
MY350Z.COM Sponsor
iTrader: (26)
 
Dynosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 2,137
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by raycs7 View Post
NATS
Doubtful. He told me the fans were kicking on when the key is on, which means the ecu is likely not receiving power. The first place I would look is the fuse box under the hood, under the plastic cover behind the battery.
__________________

Phone: 502.384.8882. We are a performance parts distributor, with services including
dyno tuning, high performance engine builds, and turn-key packages from 400-1000+whp
Dynosty is online now  
Old 12-06-2010, 06:46 PM
  #7  
350zion
SHOWTIMERAY
Thread Starter
iTrader: (58)
 
350zion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern NJ / Vacation on MARS
Posts: 1,876
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I checked the fuse under the hood, no good! Ill check in the morning with a meter and better light as its dark out.

As for the NATS I hate that thing cause u never kno if thats ur issue. I have 2 other original keys which I checked out, and still the same outcome... I disconnected the battery for over night but I really do believe a fuse went. I just gotta figure it out...
350zion is offline  
Old 12-07-2010, 04:14 AM
  #8  
350zion
SHOWTIMERAY
Thread Starter
iTrader: (58)
 
350zion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern NJ / Vacation on MARS
Posts: 1,876
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Ok so today I get up and checked all fuses in both the battery compartment, and the drivers footwell.. None blown, Im leaning heavily toward the BCM locking out the ECU due to the fact that the damn red light is on solid. I believe the ECU is not getting power as Hal stated, the fans being on is a direct symptom of that, also because the Haltech wen plugged in isnt recognized by the lap top. I tried the steps in the FSM for ECU re-recognition and that didnt work...

Still open to ideas... Also attached are a few snaps of the ground wire I disconnected that started all of this....
Attached Thumbnails Wire harness help! Car wont start...-imag0042.jpg   Wire harness help! Car wont start...-imag0043.jpg  

Last edited by 350zion; 12-07-2010 at 04:17 AM.
350zion is offline  
Old 12-07-2010, 06:10 AM
  #9  
str8dum1
Registered User
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: raleigh-wood NC
Posts: 8,806
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

you checked the fuses behind the battery, correct? You have to pull the battery out to do this. Thats where the ECU fuse is.

no power is your problem, as i have had that exact same issue.
str8dum1 is offline  
Old 12-07-2010, 06:31 AM
  #10  
350zion
SHOWTIMERAY
Thread Starter
iTrader: (58)
 
350zion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern NJ / Vacation on MARS
Posts: 1,876
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I didnt have to pull the battery out to get to the fuse box I pulled the plastic shroud and the wiper cowl out and took the cover off.. I checked the ECU IGN 10A fuse I believe and it was good...But definitely no power... Do you remember which fuse it was , The cover is marked for the fuse....
350zion is offline  
Old 12-07-2010, 06:33 AM
  #11  
str8dum1
Registered User
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: raleigh-wood NC
Posts: 8,806
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

well if the fuses are fine, time to break out the multimeter, the service manual and start tracing leads for power.
str8dum1 is offline  
Old 12-07-2010, 07:51 AM
  #12  
350zion
SHOWTIMERAY
Thread Starter
iTrader: (58)
 
350zion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern NJ / Vacation on MARS
Posts: 1,876
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

All right heres where Im at. I pulled every fuse and visually inspected them and to no avail there was a blown fuse. Behind the battery fuse box top right row. 15a I pulled it and couldnt believe. I guess I missed it in the dark last night.. Lesson learned no more effin around at night in the cold..

The car is going to my shop in a few weeks to start the BP install. Im certainly not messin around with that in my back yard....


Thanks for all ur help fellas....
350zion is offline  
Old 04-30-2019, 06:09 AM
  #13  
@banggang850
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Pensacola Florida
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fix?

Did you ever get this fixed?
@banggang850 is offline  
Old 04-30-2019, 06:23 AM
  #14  
travlee
Master
iTrader: (8)
 
travlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 37,929
Received 5,981 Likes on 4,128 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by @banggang850 View Post
Did you ever get this fixed?
8.5 year dead thread, and op hasnt logged in for a year
travlee is online now  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dboyzalter
North East Marketplace
15
05-06-2018 09:41 AM
SpartanZ32
Zs & Gs For Sale
4
10-22-2015 09:36 AM
nissan1310
Engine
2
10-12-2015 08:54 AM
cashmoney03
Audio & Video
8
09-27-2015 05:24 PM
speedsniper
Engine
5
09-14-2015 08:46 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Wire harness help! Car wont start...


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: