Notices
Wheels & Tires 350Z Rollers and Rubbers

Role center?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2005 | 03:42 PM
Soul Assassin

Default Role center?

Does anyone make something, whether it be controle arms or spacers or anyhting to adjust the role center of the z's once lowered?
Old 03-15-2005 | 07:03 PM
EnthuZ
Banned

Excellent question! Everyone lowering their Z's should be aware that they are also DRASTICALLY lowering their roll centers. Simply put.......a major change in the moment arm length, necessitating a drastic spring rate increase, which will destroy ride comfort. Been there, done that, learned from it.

Back to your question, no one that I'm aware of offers such a kit. Don't know of anyone else who even considers it an issue.

I do, and I will have a solution soon.

BCR
Old 03-16-2005 | 09:00 AM
Soul Assassin

Whats the solution if you dont mind me asking.

Also correct me if im wrong since im still fairly new to the role center and changine it for the better. Cant the improper positioning of the lower controle arm (cause by lowering the vehicle) in relation to the subframe and steering knuckle cause an increase in bumpsteer? Which can also be bad especialy at high speeds.
Old 03-16-2005 | 01:38 PM
EnthuZ
Banned

Most people/racers that alter/correct their roll centers do so by raising the inner A arm pivots points. Generally, with unequal length, non parallel A arms, one wants the lower A arm parallel to the ground.

Bump steer can be changed by altering the height of the steering rack, or changing the outer tie rods to rod ends, and using a spacer, or forging a new steering knuckle. Bump steer curves are a PITA to measure. I haven't found a need to change mine, but, I haven't lowered my Z ......YET!

Lowering a car won't always have negative effect on the bump steer, but it will but you in a different starting point on the bump steer curve. You will also be operating from a different point on the camber (negative) gain curve.