brake boosting a TT 350z. - Page 5 - MY350Z.COM Forums



Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-14-2007, 03:28 AM   #81
in2therain3
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 349
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Damn.. no test cars?
in2therain3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 06:05 AM   #82
rcdash
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
rcdash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 6,363
Thanked 39 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Apparently the CEL light should not come on though a code will be issued and the car may enter "fail safe" mode. Kevin's module will work best as it won't pose a safety hazard that a simple toggle switch would as the cruise won't disengage either when you brake if you have a manual switch in there:

DTC P1805 BRAKE SWITCH PFP:25320
Description ABS003JR
Brake switch signal is applied to the ECM through the stop lamp switch when the brake pedal is depressed.
This signal is used mainly to decrease the engine speed when the vehicle is driving.
CONSULT-II Reference Value in Data Monitor Mode ABS003JS
Specification data are reference values.
On Board Diagnosis Logic ABS003JT
The MIL will not light up for this diagnosis.
FAIL-SAFE MODE
When the malfunction is detected, the ECM enters fail-safe mode.
DTC Confirmation Procedure ABS003JU
WITH CONSULT-II
1. Turn ignition switch ON.
2. Fully depress the brake pedal for at least 5 seconds.
3. Erase the DTC with CONSULT-II.
4. Select “DATA MONITOR” mode with CONSULT-II.
5. If 1st trip DTC is detected, go to EC-538, "Diagnostic Procedure"
.
WITH GST
Follow the procedure “WITH CONSULT-II” above.
MONITOR ITEM CONDITION SPECIFICATION
BRAKE SW  Ignition switch: ON
Brake pedal: Fully released OFF
Brake pedal: Slightly depressed ON
DTC No. Trouble diagnosis name DTC detecting condition Possible cause
P1805
1805
Brake switch
A brake switch signal is not sent to ECM for an
extremely long time while the vehicle is driving.
 Harness or connectors
(Stop lamp switch circuit is open or
shorted.)
 Stop lamp switch
Engine operating condition in fail-safe mode
ECM controls the electric throttle control actuator by regulating the throttle opening to a small range.
Therefore, acceleration will be poor.
Vehicle condition Driving condition
When engine is idling Normal
When accelerating Poor acceleration
SEF058Y
rcdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 06:06 AM   #83
Alberto
Cranky FI Owner
iTrader: (14)
 
Alberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: DMV
Posts: 34,721
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Need a test car??
Alberto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 06:16 AM   #84
taurran
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
taurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: .
Posts: 9,498
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Run into problems with it? I'd love to get my hands on something like this as long as it worked properly without adverse side effects (no speedo, etc). Updates?
taurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 08:36 AM   #85
rcdash
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
rcdash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 6,363
Thanked 39 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Kevin,

Would this thing do basically the same thing as what you are designing? There'd be no way to tie it into the VDC, but other than that (so it would be active all the time)...

http://www.caraudio-caralarms.com/528T.html

I'm just wondering why would you need to ever turn it off? That is, when you press the break, the ECU gets a pulse rather than a continuous feed from the brake switch. Any harm in that?

EDIT: I just ordered one off ebay - will let you know if it works... (though I am NOT boosted so can't test that too well - what I can test is a brake torque launching)

Last edited by rcdash; 03-15-2007 at 10:47 AM.
rcdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 07:08 PM   #86
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I didn't run in to any problems with it, its done and just sitting there.

RCDash, that should work. My only concern with it would be the fact that it uses a mechanical relay on the brake wire that will pulse every time you hit the brake pedal. However, since this is not a critical circuit if it were to fail (typically relay is rated for 100,000 or so cycles) it really wouldn't be a big deal. You may also want to think about mounting locations, as you may actually hear it click every time you hit the brake pedal. A little insulation and some creative thinking can fix that too, if it is a problem.

I'm not sure if there would ever be a reason to not bypass the system.
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 07:47 PM   #87
rcdash
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
rcdash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 6,363
Thanked 39 Times in 34 Posts
Default

it was $16 bucks shipped on ebay; so i said what the heck. i have another project i can use it for if this is a no-go.

good point on the mechanical relay - didn't know it was using a mechanical one actually. I will add an indicator LED so that I can easily tell if it's working (if it doesn't have one).

or maybe i'll know cause the clicking will stop! actually i figure I press the brake maybe 10-20 times a day (gotta like living in NC!) at most. that's what 5000 days or about 12+ years worth of use if it lasts for 100k cycles?

btw, if you're going to integrate this into your VDC module then i'd still be up for that... let me know cause i have a carPC project I can use this other relay for instead...

Last edited by rcdash; 03-15-2007 at 07:51 PM.
rcdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 10:44 PM   #88
AboostedG
Twin Spoolin
iTrader: (6)
 
AboostedG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 627
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Anyone get this done? I'd like to see some vids!!
AboostedG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 01:12 AM   #89
Havok_RLS2
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
Havok_RLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 2,384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFitchTLS
Anyone get this done? I'd like to see some vids!!

+1
Havok_RLS2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 02:16 AM   #90
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've actually got my car back together, so maybe I'll try it out this weekend.
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 10:45 AM   #91
MardiGrasMax
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
MardiGrasMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans LA
Posts: 638
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No boost here yet... But would this stop the bogging that I get when I brake torque launch my 5AT? When I stand on the brake and pree the gas the car wont launch hard at all. I can feel the power come back strong maybe a second after I let off the brake when launching. I think the ECU is closing the throttle becasue of the brake and gas being pressed at the same time. I also cant do good burd outs
MardiGrasMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 11:10 AM   #92
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

On the highway today I played around with the brake and the gas and found that if I press the brake I can not rev higher then the current RPM.
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 11:38 AM   #93
Dirty Dave
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
Dirty Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: B - low
Posts: 486
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KPierson
On the highway today I played around with the brake and the gas and found that if I press the brake I can not rev higher then the current RPM.
Was this with the unit installed that was talked about earlier in this thread ? And did it build any boost ?
Dirty Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 06:27 AM   #94
silver nismo
Registered User
 
silver nismo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: jeddah
Posts: 1,006
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phunk
silver nismo, yes it will solve the problem as long as your not pressing the brake peddle while trying to give it gas. the line lock allows you to let off the brake while during the burnout.
Hi phunk it has been a while... the drag starts soon and i was looking and just reading and i saw our post if u go back to page 1 any way i just wanted to tell u no it doesnt work i tryed the line lock my self and it doesn't work the problem is the abs will unleash the line lock so to be able to do it i need to take the abs fuse off i haven't tried that 1 but i will and i will let u know...
silver nismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 07:31 AM   #95
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty Dave
Was this with the unit installed that was talked about earlier in this thread ? And did it build any boost ?
No, that was stock.

I made a comment earlier in the thread about not knowing if my G35 did the same thing as the 350Z. It does, in fact, do the same thing. This makes it a perfect canidate to be the test mule!
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 09:11 AM   #96
Alberto
Cranky FI Owner
iTrader: (14)
 
Alberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: DMV
Posts: 34,721
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I still want to test your unit, any interest on your end?
Alberto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 09:55 AM   #97
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, there is interest, but I prefer to do initial testing on my own car. Once I get that done, we can move forward with a field beta test.
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 03:14 PM   #98
Dirty Dave
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
Dirty Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: B - low
Posts: 486
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KPierson
Yes, there is interest, but I prefer to do initial testing on my own car. Once I get that done, we can move forward with a field beta test.
Any kind of time bracket when you plan on doing some testing ? Spring is on the way and doing some brake boosting would be fun .
Dirty Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 09:21 PM   #99
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Spring may be on the way, but there is snow on the ground here in Ohio.

I was planning on installing it today, but my garage was way too cold. I barely got my fuel pressure sending unit installed. I couldn't find the motivation to install this module as I knew I wouldn't even be able to test it.

It's supposed to warm up this week, so hopefully I'll get it in by the weekend. I also have some new spark plugs that are supposed to be here tomorrow. Should be a busy week.
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 02:31 PM   #100
alshawi
Registered User
 
alshawi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bahrain
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just remove the fuse on the bottom left side of the drivers seat. Its the break lamp fuse. Thats all u have to do
alshawi is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autocross Brake Pads hajwoj Autocross/Road 27 11-01-2015 05:25 PM
Replacing Tail light issue. 350z82 Exterior & Interior 19 10-01-2015 06:25 PM


Tags
2005, boost, brake, constant, g35, g37, infiniti, infinity, lights, sensor, slip, snow, stay, switch, toggle, vdc, yaw

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Copyright ©2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.