Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Engine & Drivetrain > Forced Induction
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceUsed CarsGarageVendor Directory
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2008, 09:46 AM   #1
Clint@Altered
Banned
 
Clint@Altered's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (5)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gaithersburg
Posts: 504
Default Procharger Belt Issues? Here's a fix: AAM Supercharger Brace

The ATI Procharger supercharger was one of the earliest forced induction kits available for the Nissan 350Z and Infiniti G35. Over the last couple of years we've encountered a minor, but consistent, flaw in the design of the ATI Procharger unit. When the pulleys are upgraded, additional stress is placed on the superchargerís main bracket, causing it to flex. The angle of this flex causes the main belt to shift on the cog pulley under load. The end result of these actions is more rapid wear of the supercharger main belt, premature wear on the kits jackshaft assembly, and a loss of supercharger power and efficiency.

The AAM Competition Supercharger Flex Brace is the solution to this problem. Preliminary testing has show the AAM Comp Supercharger Flex Brace significantly reduces this flex and helps maintain belt longevity and supercharger power output. Constructed from the highest quality billet aluminum, the AAM Competition Supercharger Flex Brace can be used with Nissan 350Z and Infiniti G35 vehicles equipped with an ATI Procharger unit.

Note: A properly functioning jackshaft bearing greatly increases the effectiveness of the AAM Supercharger Brace. We will be working with Procharger to provide the best possible pricing for new jackshaft assemblies for those whose bearings have prematurely worn or those who have old units which are in need of fresh components.

For further information and pricing, feel free to give us a call at the shop, PM me or e-mail me at ClintonM@alteredatmosphere.com or Sales@alteredatmosphere.com

Recommended install time: 3 hours

In-Stock







BEFORE BRACE:



WITH THE AAM BRACE

Clint@Altered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 11:27 AM   #2
SC 350Z
Registered User
 
SC 350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (22)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Frostburg MD
Posts: 879
Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via MSN to SC 350Z
Default

wow nice work had the problem with my kit i made my own back in the day good work AAM
__________________
TEAM RAMROD CUSTOMS!!!!!
SC 350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 03:15 PM   #3
superchargedg
Damn Noobs
 
superchargedg's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: timonium,md.
Posts: 7,270
Points: 6,110, Level: 50
Points: 6,110, Level: 50 Points: 6,110, Level: 50 Points: 6,110, Level: 50
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

Very nice work and when i was at the meet they do have a sweet cnc machine.
__________________
My car is bone stock...i promise.
superchargedg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 07:14 PM   #4
str8dum1
Registered User

 
Trader Score: (11)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: raleigh-wood NC
Posts: 8,524
Points: 5,913, Level: 49
Points: 5,913, Level: 49 Points: 5,913, Level: 49 Points: 5,913, Level: 49
Today's Activity: 1.8%
Today's Activity: 1.8% Today's Activity: 1.8% Today's Activity: 1.8%
Default

woah! thats come deflection on the stock plate!! i cant imagine not having some sort of brace. Is procharger even aware of this problem?

I used the Vortech used wide cogged belts.
__________________
VQ38DETT with SFR Twin 6262 on ProEFI128 Corn Fed
str8dum1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 01:32 PM   #5
SC 350Z
Registered User
 
SC 350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (22)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Frostburg MD
Posts: 879
Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via MSN to SC 350Z
Default

please do^
__________________
TEAM RAMROD CUSTOMS!!!!!
SC 350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 04:59 PM   #6
SC 350Z
Registered User
 
SC 350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (22)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Frostburg MD
Posts: 879
Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via MSN to SC 350Z
Default

+1 i watched the video this afternoon from AAM and i knew it would flex some but holy****it moved more then what the engine does
__________________
TEAM RAMROD CUSTOMS!!!!!
SC 350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 02:48 PM   #7
superchargedg
Damn Noobs
 
superchargedg's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: timonium,md.
Posts: 7,270
Points: 6,110, Level: 50
Points: 6,110, Level: 50 Points: 6,110, Level: 50 Points: 6,110, Level: 50
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

Good luck man.
__________________
My car is bone stock...i promise.
superchargedg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 03:16 PM   #8
Nexx
Registered User
 
Nexx's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (41)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 13,633
Points: 6,974, Level: 55
Points: 6,974, Level: 55 Points: 6,974, Level: 55 Points: 6,974, Level: 55
Today's Activity: 2.2%
Today's Activity: 2.2% Today's Activity: 2.2% Today's Activity: 2.2%
Default

wow, those before and after videos are shocking. what a terrible initial design!! hopefully this will fix your belt issues Jay!
__________________
Greddy, HKS, Volk, Haltech, Motordyne....
Nexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 03:35 PM   #9
SC 350Z
Registered User
 
SC 350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (22)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Frostburg MD
Posts: 879
Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via MSN to SC 350Z
Default

update?
__________________
TEAM RAMROD CUSTOMS!!!!!
SC 350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 05:10 PM   #10
Nexx
Registered User
 
Nexx's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (41)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 13,633
Points: 6,974, Level: 55
Points: 6,974, Level: 55 Points: 6,974, Level: 55 Points: 6,974, Level: 55
Today's Activity: 2.2%
Today's Activity: 2.2% Today's Activity: 2.2% Today's Activity: 2.2%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay'Z
They still sending me bolts.. So I should be getting them tomorrow with instructions finally...
so are you selling the car or not? im so confused.
__________________
Greddy, HKS, Volk, Haltech, Motordyne....
Nexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 05:13 PM   #11
SC 350Z
Registered User
 
SC 350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (22)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Frostburg MD
Posts: 879
Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via MSN to SC 350Z
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay'Z
AAM has already sent me two sets of bolts overnighted, (one set was the wrong length so im waiting on another set).. So I should be getting them tomorrow overnighted with instructions.. So far AAM has been really good with customer service and trying to make the mistake on bolts right...
nice AAM customer service FTW!!!!!!
__________________
TEAM RAMROD CUSTOMS!!!!!

Last edited by SC 350Z; 09-10-2008 at 05:33 PM.
SC 350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 05:58 PM   #12
doug
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (5)
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: ur moms bedroom.. watching TV
Posts: 16,762
Points: 10,336, Level: 67
Points: 10,336, Level: 67 Points: 10,336, Level: 67 Points: 10,336, Level: 67
Today's Activity: 3.1%
Today's Activity: 3.1% Today's Activity: 3.1% Today's Activity: 3.1%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay'Z
Honestly its on sale sure, is it going to sell............ And lately i cant ssssay ill be able to part ways with this car.. I think I love this car wayyyyyyyy too much..
i know EXACTLY how you feel
__________________
Yes i'm a DoucheBag: But Admit it.. my posts excited you
doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 07:41 PM   #13
SpoilsofWar
Registered User
 
SpoilsofWar's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (39)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Way North, New York
Posts: 2,362
Points: 6,987, Level: 55
Points: 6,987, Level: 55 Points: 6,987, Level: 55 Points: 6,987, Level: 55
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

How does AAM send you the wrong bolts twice? I mean, its cool they're helping you out, but it seems like they would already know what length bolts they need to send with the brace, yes?
__________________
Justin - Built Block Turbonetics ST

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z1 Performance
we're in the back of the shop now brewing up Mag Blue Drank
SpoilsofWar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 05:31 AM   #14
Clint@Altered
Banned
 
Clint@Altered's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (5)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gaithersburg
Posts: 504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpoilsofWar
How does AAM send you the wrong bolts twice? I mean, its cool they're helping you out, but it seems like they would already know what length bolts they need to send with the brace, yes?
LOL, very true. You guys can blame it on me. I ordered bolts for warehouse stock that were a little shorter than the ones we stock in the shop (which we use for install on the bracket) - I never noticed the difference until Jason pointed it out. And I forgot to add the 3/8-16 Hex Heads in the package

Everything is corrected and should be to you in no time! No more extra cash spent on belts, you should be romping on it by the weekend. Thanks for your patience Jason!!
Clint@Altered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 03:15 PM   #15
Nexx
Registered User
 
Nexx's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (41)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 13,633
Points: 6,974, Level: 55
Points: 6,974, Level: 55 Points: 6,974, Level: 55 Points: 6,974, Level: 55
Today's Activity: 2.2%
Today's Activity: 2.2% Today's Activity: 2.2% Today's Activity: 2.2%
Default

bump for an update
__________________
Greddy, HKS, Volk, Haltech, Motordyne....
Nexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:02 PM   #16
Clint@Altered
Banned
 
Clint@Altered's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (5)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gaithersburg
Posts: 504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay'Z
I think these pics/thread combined with the AAM instructions will save other owners time and frustration..
Jason, Thanks for the input. I'm glad you got it on. I'll work on tidying up the instructions. I'm sure it will save you from a future of frustrating belt issues. As far as the 30 minute install time - well that's a bit of an exaggeration on my part. Coming from the guys who designed and installed the bracket countless times over the last four months, maybe - especially with some specialty tools (Mercedez Benz low profile allen ratchets, custom cnc tools etc - LOL, we have a habit of making our own tools). I tried the install myself this week and I agree, it is a serious PITA!! 2-3hrs minimum unless you've done it before. But the results are well worth the frustration ! Let me know if you ever need anything else.

-Clint
Clint@Altered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 11:12 PM   #17
Nexx
Registered User
 
Nexx's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (41)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 13,633
Points: 6,974, Level: 55
Points: 6,974, Level: 55 Points: 6,974, Level: 55 Points: 6,974, Level: 55
Today's Activity: 2.2%
Today's Activity: 2.2% Today's Activity: 2.2% Today's Activity: 2.2%
Default

so did what are you impressions? did it help with maintaining boost or give you more?
__________________
Greddy, HKS, Volk, Haltech, Motordyne....
Nexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 05:09 AM   #18
pmohr
Registered User
 
pmohr's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 266
Points: 2,441, Level: 29
Points: 2,441, Level: 29 Points: 2,441, Level: 29 Points: 2,441, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to pmohr Send a message via Yahoo to pmohr
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay'Z
Bro, I didnt even drive it.. After the install i was beat (combined with my daily job)..

I will give an impression today..



Thanks Clint, I know now that I have done it once I can do it again faster but I doubt 30 minutes.. I need some of those benz tools etc..
Personally I think removing the entire bracket to do everything is much easier, and doesn't take all too long. Really only thing you need to do is remove the serpentine belt, intake, and charge pipes (all cog belts can stay in place).

Custom tools definitely help out the job though, for example one I made specifically for Procharger setups:
Click the image to open in full size.

Shitty pic, my camera sucks. Basically a 5/16" 1/4"-drive socket with an 8mm allen key epoxied into place. The allen key sticks out enough to perfectly bottom out in the main bracket bolts (with idler pulleys and spacers behind them). Break them loose with an allen key and a wrench, or a regular 8mm allen socket and a breaker bar, then switch to this with a 1/4" ratchet. The small ratchet and socket that's as small as possible allows for a lot more clearance between the ratchet and fan shroud, making everything a lot easier and quicker (also leads to less swearing). Although now that I think about it, cutting the socket in half would make it even smaller, and easier to get in there...hmm.
pmohr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 10:54 AM   #19
SC 350Z
Registered User
 
SC 350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (22)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Frostburg MD
Posts: 879
Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29 Points: 2,419, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via MSN to SC 350Z
Default

bump hows it working?
__________________
TEAM RAMROD CUSTOMS!!!!!
SC 350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 02:24 PM   #20
ADMAN
Registered User
 
ADMAN's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (9)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SIN CITY
Posts: 1,855
Points: 5,410, Level: 47
Points: 5,410, Level: 47 Points: 5,410, Level: 47 Points: 5,410, Level: 47
Today's Activity: 1.8%
Today's Activity: 1.8% Today's Activity: 1.8% Today's Activity: 1.8%
Default

WOW!!! What a PITA. I never knew those moved THAT much.
ADMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 02:24 PM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
350z, aam, belt, brace, cog, drive, flex, g35, instalation, instructions, jackshaft, procharger, supercharger, superchargers, video, vortech



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - Jobs
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup