Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Downshift grinding (????)

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2005, 04:28 AM
suprpwr

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Downshift grinding (????)

Just noticed this the other day, but when I downshift pretty quickly from 6th to 5th, I get this initial grind going into 5th. I also felt it this morning going down from 4th to 3rd. Any idea what could cause that? (I'm a bit of noob when it comes to this). I have an 03 Touring with about 38k on the clock. I also have a gold 100k warranty....any thoughts? thanks --
Old 05-05-2005, 05:33 AM
harrieyu

not pressing the clutch all the way? not rev matching (double clutching)?
Old 05-05-2005, 05:37 AM
tacomaboy

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

bad tranny. Does it consistently do this?
Old 05-05-2005, 06:09 AM
suprpwr

I definitely push the clutch in all the way......and it does happen pretty consistently. I tested it like 10x yesterday on the drive home...each time downshifting from 6th to 5th, it grinded (definitely like the sound when you mis-shift and the clutch isn't in all the way)....any idea of this could be under warranty? (I am out of the standard 36k window)
Old 05-05-2005, 06:11 AM
tacomaboy

Standard powertrain is 50k miles, not 36, so you are covered. Take it into the dealer. If they give yuo crap, take it to another dealer and give a bad review to the first one.

Mine got replaced right away when I took it in for grinding going into 6th. The dealer had seen it before and replaced it for me in 3 days time. Great service (wish they could have fixed the seat shifting though).
Old 05-05-2005, 06:26 AM
suprpwr

Yeh, just called Browns Nissan. Told me I'd have to agree to an $86 diagnostic fee for them to take a look at it....and if it's a warranty deal, it would be refunded. just would suck if I agree to that, then they give me crap and try to say it's not under warranty....we'll see I guess
Old 05-05-2005, 06:29 AM
tacomaboy

NO
DONT DO THAT.