Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Z's that drift to the right

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2005, 12:29 PM
BigMike

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Z's that drift to the right

I've heard more than a few people experience their Z drifting to the right. I have an 05 and don't have the problem. But I was in Charlotte over the weekend and my cousin has a first year Dodge Magnum. I asked him if he has had any "first production year" problems. He said he hasn't but a lot of others have including a SEVERE drifting to the right problem.

Want to guess how Dodge is fixing the problem? They are moving the engine 1/8" or 1/4" to the left (can't remember). You think Nissan would ever do something like that?
Old 07-14-2005, 04:15 PM
Wired 24/7
Dr. Wired

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

That sounds asinine, but I am not a mechanical engineer, so I don't know.

I doubt that nissan would do this... alignment is a lot simpler to do.

I still am not convinced that everyone who claims to be drifting to the right knows what they are talking about. Since most roads crown to the right, it's inaccurate to say your car drifts unless you are on a perfectly flat surface. The best place to test it is in a perfectly flat parking structure, but you probably can't get going at freeway speeds which is where the drifting would really matter.
Old 07-15-2005, 04:44 AM
BigMike

Okay, you said it, you're not a mechanical engineer.

The people that have had the work done claim its working. I'm sure Dodge wouldn't go through that much trouble fixing a problem if it hadn't been thoroughly tested.

My main point was that Nissan is not an "honorable" company. That's so ironic seeing how "honor" is such a big thing in Japan (at least according to the Karate Kid movies LOL). It just amazes me with some of the problems that people have had that Nissan takes the stance of "its the customer's fault".

You have to give credit to Dodge for doing what it takes to fix a problem
Old 07-15-2005, 07:07 AM
milanista