2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

2nd gear too sexy?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2002, 10:10 PM
ares
Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2nd gear too sexy?

so Im riding along and think, lets take off the VDC and have some fun.

at a stoplight, I figure Ill give it some power, go in 1st at a strong pace but not a launch, I dont burn my clutch during joyriding. shift to second and begin the turn. hit the pedal down pretty hard and boom, the back end is drifting(wheres this understeer I keep hearing about?) I have some knowledge of driving a car like this and turn the fronts to slide the car sideways with the tail, pointing in the direction I eventually want to go. but as the far curb comes closer I begin to worry that Im not slowing down...

finally to my complete dismay I strike the curb with both wheels and here CRACK from the back axle.

HAHA jk, no I would have cried, I gave up on the drift and turned the wheels so I could modulate the turn with the throttle, which worked as planned tho it was a less than graceful ride.

so anyway, can a car have too much power? Im having a hard time doing turns without the backend just stepping out completely.

I continue to find the limits, but damn... watch out there boys and girls, this cars a beast, and if you dont think itll drift then you havent tried.
Old 12-09-2002, 10:28 PM
zland
Sponsor
Sport Z Magazine

Received 47 Likes on 35 Posts
Default I got the model E

Will i miss the VDC???? I am getting the model E without it. Sounds more fun without it but am I thinking wrong?
Old 12-10-2002, 07:09 AM
robbyn
Charter Member #79

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: I got the model E

Originally posted by zland
Will i miss the VDC???? I am getting the model E without it. Sounds more fun without it but am I thinking wrong?
Don't think so. The TCS is enough for me, it keeps me out of trouble when its slick, but doesn't drive the car for me.
Old 12-10-2002, 07:50 AM
westpak
SFZCC

Default Re: Re: I got the model E