Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Down Shifting vs. Brake Pads

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2006, 06:08 AM
bOmberO_Z

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Down Shifting vs. Brake Pads

I see all these posts about different kinds of downshifting, and heel/toe, and just putting it in "N." Well, this is my first manuel car, that's not to say I'm new at driving manuel. It's just the first one i've owned.
Anyways, I asked around, and most people said they just pop it in "N" and slow down with the brakes... afterall, that's what they are made for. This is what I do also, If I'm in 6th, I just let got of gas, then as I start getting closer I put it in N and use the brakes.
I don't downshift because it puts stress on the engine and tranny from what I've been told. I mean, wasn't downshifting just really used to rev up your motor as street racers got closer to the lights?
I guess, I'm going to be using my brakes pads a lot quicker, but i'd rather pay for a brake job then lose miles and life on my motor and tranny.
What do you guys think is better, and maybe I can get a better explanation of the other methods of stopping. Is going to "N" bad? I don't think so, but i'd love everyone elses opinion
Old 03-16-2006, 06:12 AM
Vamos_Rafael

dont put it in N and hit the brakes
leave it in a lower gear then hit the brakes
Old 03-16-2006, 06:16 AM
bOmberO_Z

What if i'm in 6th...
Old 03-16-2006, 06:19 AM
Vamos_Rafael

Originally Posted by bOmberO_Z
What if i'm in 6th...
what speed r u traveling?
if ur in 6th @ legal speed (65mph) for economy then just blip it into 3rd
thats what i'd do...
maybe Kolia can enlighten me, but i do think downshifting + brakes stop more aggressively than just hitting the brakes...
Old 03-16-2006, 06:47 AM
03performz

I always throw it in neutral early and cruise to a stop (w/ brakes). Brake pads are much cheaper than trans. and clutch...plus gas=$$$.
Old 03-16-2006, 06:50 AM
[]V[]addog